Don Nelson Selected to 2012 Basketball Hall of Fame

Michael DixonAnalyst IIIMarch 28, 2012

MINNEAPOLIS, MN - APRIL 7: Head coach Don Nelson of Golden State Warriors in the first half against the Minnesota Timberwolves during a basketball game at Target Center on April 7, 2010 in Minneapolis, Minnesota.  NOTE TO USER:  User expressly acknowledges and agrees that, by downloading and or using this photograph, User is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement.  Mandatory Copyright Notice:  Copyright 2010 NBAE  (Photo by Hannah Foslien /Getty Images)
Hannah Foslien/Getty Images

No coach in NBA history has won more games from the bench as Don Nelson. Now, according to Rusty Simmons of, he will be rewarded for his years in the game with a trip to the Hall of Fame. 

Former Warriors coach Don Nelson, known as an innovator throughout his career, will be among this year’s class inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame.

Nelson, a three-time coach of the year and the NBA’s all-time winningest coach, told ESPN that he got the call Wednesday morning after being snubbed for several years. The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame will officially announce the 2012 class on Monday at the NCAA Final Four in New Orleans.

Nelson has a career record of 1,335-1,063. He won the NBA's Coach of the Year award three times (1983, 1985 and 1992), but never won an NBA title as a coach.

Prior to becoming a coach, Nelson had a playing career that lasted from 1962 to 1976. As a player, he enjoyed great championship success, winning rings in 1966, 1968, 1969, 1974 and 1976. All of those those were won with the Boston Celtics. 

After retirement, Nelson coached the Bucks from 1976 to 1987, the Warriors from 1988 to 1985 (and again from 2006 to 2010), the Knicks from 1995 to 1996 and the Mavericks from 1997 to 2005.

The class will officially be announced on Monday in New Orleans.

Nelson will be inducted along with Reggie Miller, Rick Pitino, Bill Fitch, Katrina McClain, Maurice Cheeks, Bernard King, Dick Motta, Hank Nichols, Ralph Sampson, Jamaal Wilkes and the All-American Red Heads team.