2011 NFL Previews by Division: NFC East

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
2011 NFL Previews by Division: NFC East
Jim McIsaac/Getty Images

The NFC East has long been perceived as the best division in conference. Some of that is warranted: No division has had fewer combined losing records since the new four division per conference format was instituted in 2002. All four teams have made the playoffs more than once in that span. Three teams have won the division more than once in that time.

But some of it is hype, as only two teams have made it to the Super Bowl, and only one has won it (the New York Giants after the 2007 season). Individual teams have also been over-hyped.

The Dallas Cowboys are a perennial pick to go all the way, and have just one playoff win since the 1997 season. The Philadelphia Eagles have lost multiple home games in the playoffs in that time. The team from Washington with the name too offensive to use has been almost as offensive on the field, consistently posting losing seasons after making among the biggest splashes in free agency.

Ultimately, the NFC North and AFC South have as many conference and Super Bowl titles as the East, and the NFC South, AFC East and AFC North exceed this division in that regard. That leaves this division as at best the third most accomplished of six divisions...will this be the year they get to the next level?

Begin Slideshow »

Follow New York Giants from B/R on Facebook

Follow New York Giants from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Out of Bounds

New York Giants

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.