2011 NFL Predictions by Division: NFC West

« Prev
1 of 5
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
2011 NFL Predictions by Division: NFC West
Donald Miralle/Getty Images
The NFC West banner should be as low quality as the division

The NFC West has been the worst division in NFL history since the league went to its current format of four divisions per conference in 2002.

In only one season have the teams finished with a combined record of .500 or better—in 2003 they were two games up. In the seven years since then, they have had five seasons finishing 12 or more games below and are 179-269...fewer than two wins for every three losses.

No other division has more than four combined losing records in those seven years (the AFC West). Two divisions (NFC East and AFC North) have just one losing composite record in that span.

Last season, the NFC West became the first division in NFL history to be won by a team with a losing record.

But it is also one of the most competitive divisions. Whereas the NFC North (see previews on provided link) has been dominated by the Green Bay Packers, every team has won the NFC West at least once after realignment.

They have not been without playoff success, either. Even last year's 7-9 division champion Seattle Seahawks won a playoff game, something all four teams had already done since realignment. The Seahawks and Arizona Cardinals even have NFC Championships.

This season is no different in either sense: All four teams could win the division, and all four could finish below .500. Both could even happen at once.

The following is the order I pick the teams to finish and why...

Begin Slideshow »

Follow Los Angeles Rams from B/R on Facebook

Follow Los Angeles Rams from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Los Angeles Rams

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.