NFL: 5 Candidates for the 2011 Comeback Player of the Year Award

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
NFL: 5 Candidates for the 2011 Comeback Player of the Year Award
Jim McIsaac/Getty Images
NFL 2010 Comeback Player of the Year, Michael Vick

With the 2011 regular season quickly approaching, there are a number of players heading for the season-ending Injured Reserve list and a good chunk of players coming off of injuries from last year.

In addition, there are several players who have spent a significant amount of time out of football (i.e. Plaxico Burress, Larry Johnson), trying to make a triumphant return. It should be extremely interesting to see who comes out this year as the NFL's 2011 Comeback Player of the Year (CBOY).

The CBOY award has been dominated in the past 10 years by quarterbacks, with Chad Pennington winning it twice with both the Jets and Dolphins, as well as Tom Brady, Michael Vick,  Jon Kitna and Tommy Maddox all winning it once.

The CBOY winners have been varied between those coming back from serious injuries, such as Tom Brady and Chad Pennington, to those who spent a considerable amount of time out of the NFL, like Tommy Maddox and Michael Vick, to those coming off a down year, like Jon Kitna and Greg Ellis.

This year promises for some exciting competition for this award.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.