Winners, Losers of the NFL Draft

Complete NFL Draft Results

2011 NFL Season, Team Previews by Division: AFC East

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
2011 NFL Season, Team Previews by Division: AFC East
Elsa/Getty Images
Shaun Ellis switching teams has shifted the balance of power in the AFC East

One of the premier divisions in all of football is the AFC East.

Since the NFL went to its current four-division per conference alignment, six AFC East teams have reached the Conference Championship Game, including four in the last five seasons. They have advanced three times to the Super Bowl and won it twice.

Only the NFC South has beaten that mark with seven appearances, three wins and two titles. The AFC North also has three Super Bowl appearances (all by New England) and two wins, but only four teams reached the conference title game.

Moreover, the New England Patriots have been the dominant regular season team over that span. They have four of the eight 14-win seasons, including an unbeaten season.

Of course, since earning a trip to the Super Bowl in that season over three years ago, they have no playoff wins. Meanwhile, their rival New York Jets have made the conference title game the past two years as a wild card.

No matter how dominant the Patriots have been in wins over the Jets, New York holds the top spot in the division for that success when it is needed most. But where will the teams finish the 2011 NFL regular season?

Begin Slideshow »
Load More Stories

Out of Bounds

New England Patriots

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.