Roy Halladay Grabs NL Cy Young Award: Power Ranking Top 15 Winners in NL History

« Prev
1 of 16
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Roy Halladay Grabs NL Cy Young Award: Power Ranking Top 15 Winners in NL History
Mitchell Layton/Getty Images

Roy Halladay effectively killed whatever drama might have been attached to the announcement of the 2010 National League Cy Young Award winner.

It's no secret that the Philadelphia Phillies' ace ran away with the thing once Josh Johnson got shelved while Ubaldo Jimenez and Adam Wainwright blinked in the second half of the season.

The Florida Marlin didn't miss too many games and neither the Colorado Rockie, nor the better of the two St. Louis Cardinal untouchables struggled badly or for very long, but Halladay simply gave the other horses no margin for error:


33 GS, 250.2 IP, 21-10, 2.44 ERA, 1.04 WHIP, 7.9 K/9, 7.30 K/BB, .245/.271/.373


Further sweetening the pot were Doc's league-leading nine complete games, league-leading four shutouts, the perfect game and the no-hitter in his playoff debut (though that one didn't happen in time for the voting).

How's that for your first year with a new club?

The second "Year of the Pitcher" gave us brilliance from those mentioned along with Tim Hudson, Roy Oswalt and Mat Latos, but none was as blinding as Roy Halladay.

However, as good as the burly right-hander's campaign was, it still wasn't quite dandy enough to crack this petrified nut. Without further ado, here are the top 15 NL Cy Youngs in the history of the award.


Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.