Vikings' Peterson Wins NFL Rushing Title for 3rd Time

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Vikings' Peterson Wins NFL Rushing Title for 3rd Time
Wesley Hitt/Getty Images

Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson finished the regular season with 327 carries for 1,485 yards and 11 touchdowns, earning his third NFL rushing title and first since 2012.

Although he didn't come close to matching his total of 2,097 rushing yards from 2012, the 30-year-old running back still had a remarkable season for an aging player who only appeared in one game the previous year.

Peterson joins Curtis Martin (2004 New York Jets) and Marion Motley (1950 Cleveland Browns) as the only players in NFL or AFL history to win a league rushing title at the age of 30 or older, per Elias Sports Bureau (via

If Peterson leads the league in rushing yards again next season, he'll surpass Martin (by a few months) as the oldest player ever to do so.

First, Peterson will lead his team into a highly difficult wild-card playoff matchup with the Seattle Seahawks, winners of six of their last seven games, including a 38-7 victory over Minnesota back in Week 13.

To be fair, the Vikings were missing a slew of key defenders for that contest, and most (if not all) of those guys should be back for Sunday's game.

Curiously, Peterson is the only 1,000-yard rusher in this year's postseason field, as each of the other six players to reach the plateau did so for a non-playoff team, per ESPN Stats & Info

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.