NFL Pro Bowl Selections 2014: Voting Results and Full List of Players Announced

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
NFL Pro Bowl Selections 2014: Voting Results and Full List of Players Announced
Getty Images

The 2014 NFL Pro Bowl selections have been announced. And while some familiar faces are set to head back to Hawaii, there was a fair share of notable surprises.

Denver Broncos quarterback and MVP favorite Peyton Manning headlines the list of selections. The veteran signal-caller has now earned 13 Pro Bowl nods, tying him for second all-time alongside Tony Gonzalez, Jerry Rice, Reggie White and Ray Lewis.

Manning's selection came as no surprise, though, as he broke the single-season record for touchdown passes in Week 16's blowout win over the Houston Texans. The 37-year-old has thrown for 5,211 yards and 51 touchdowns in 2013 and only needs 266 yards in Week 17 to snap Drew Brees' record for single-season passing yards. 

Manning is joined by the following list of names: 

2014 NFL Pro Bowl Offense Selections
Pos. Player Team
QB Tom Brady New England Patriots
QB Peyton Manning Denver Broncos
QB Philip Rivers San Diego Chargers
QB Drew Brees New Orleans Saints
QB Cam Newton Carolina Panthers
QB Russell Wilson Seattle Seahawks
FB Marcel Reece Oakland Raiders
FB Mike Tolbert Carolina Panthers
RB Jamaal Charles Kansas City Chiefs
RB Matt Forte Chicago Bears
RB Frank Gore San Francisco 49ers
RB Marshawn Lynch Seattle Seahawks
RB LeSean McCoy Philadelphia Eagles
RB Adrian Peterson Minnesota Vikings
WR Antonio Brown Pittsburgh Steelers
WR Dez Bryant Dallas Cowboys
WR Josh Gordon Cleveland Browns
WR A.J. Green Cincinnati Bengals
WR Andre Johnson Houston Texans
WR Calvin Johnson Detroit Lions
WR Brandon Marshall Chicago Bears
WR Demaryius Thomas Denver Broncos
TE Jordan Cameron Cleveland Browns
TE Vernon Davis San Francisco 49ers
TE Jimmy Graham New Orleans Saints
TE Julius Thomas Denver Broncos
OT Branden Albert Kansas City Chiefs
OT Jason Peters Philadelphia Eagles
OT Tyron Smith Dallas Cowboys
OT Joe Staley San Francisco 49ers
OT Joe Thomas Cleveland Browns
OT Trent Williams Washington Redskins
G Jahri Evans New Orleans Saints
G Ben Grubbs New Orleans Saints
G Mike Iupati San Francisco 49ers
G Logan Mankins New England Patriots
G Louis Vasquez Denver Broncos
G Marshal Yanda Baltimore Ravens
C Ryan Kalil Carolina Panthers
C Alex Mack Cleveland Browns
C Mike Pouncey Miami Dolphins
C Max Unger Seattle Seahawks

2014 NFL Pro Bowl Defense Selections
Pos. Player Team
DE Greg Hardy Carolina Panthers
DE Cameron Jordan New Orleans Saints
DE Robert Quinn St. Louis Rams
DE Cameron Wake Miami Dolphins
DE J.J. Watt Houston Texans
DE Mario Williams Buffalo Bills
DT Gerald McCoy Tampa Bay Buccaneers
DT Haloti Ngata Baltimore Ravens
DT Dontari Poe Kansas City Chiefs
DT Justin Smith San Francisco 49ers
DT Ndamukong Suh Detroit Lions
DT Kyle Williams Buffalo Bills
OLB John Abraham Arizona Cardinals
OLB Ahmad Brooks San Francisco 49ers
OLB Tamba Hali Kansas City Chiefs
OLB Justin Houston Kansas City Chiefs
OLB Robert Mathis Indianapolis Colts
OLB Terrell Suggs Baltimore Ravens
ILB NaVorro Bowman San Francisco 49ers
ILB Vontaze Burfict Cincinnati Bengals
ILB Luke Kuechly Carolina Panthers
ILB Patrick Willis San Francisco 49ers
CB Brandon Flowers Kansas City Chiefs
CB Brent Grimes Miami Dolphins
CB Joe Haden Cleveland Browns
CB Patrick Peterson Arizona Cardinals
CB Darrelle Revis Tampa Bay Buccaneers
CB Richard Sherman Seattle Seahawks
CB Aqib Talib New England Patriots
CB Alterraun Verner Tennessee Titans
FS Jairus Byrd Buffalo Bills
FS Earl Thomas Seattle Seahawks
FS Eric Weddle San Diego Chargers
SS Eric Berry Kansas City Chiefs
SS Kam Chancellor Seattle Seahawks
SS Troy Polamalu Pittsburgh Steelers

2014 NFL Pro Bowl Special Teams Selections
Pos. Player Team
P Brandon Fields Miami Dolphins
P Johnny Hekker St. Louis Rams
K Matt Prater Denver Broncos
K Justin Tucker Baltimore Ravens
PR Antonio Brown Pittsburgh Steelers
PR Dexter McCluster Kansas City Chiefs
ST Justin Bethel Arizona Cardinals
ST Matthew Slater New England Patriots

Despite a dismal 2-13 record, the Houston Texans will send multiple players to the Pro Bowl in January. Wide receiver Andre Johnson, who has quietly racked up over 1,350 yards this season, earned his seventh Pro Bowl invitation, while dominant defensive lineman J.J. Watt was selected for the second straight year as well.

Dilip Vishwanat/Getty Images

Defensively, few players have been as dominant as St. Louis Rams defensive end Robert Quinn, who leads the league with 18 sacks heading into Week 17. Quinn also forced seven fumbles en route to earning his first-ever Pro Bowl nod.

Seattle Seahawks offensive lineman Russell Okung has to face Quinn twice a year and has high praise for the first-time Pro Bowler, per The News Tribune's Todd Dybas:

His athleticism’s off the charts. He has really long arms; he plays with his hands extremely well. He has a really good knack for getting around the edge and hitting you inside with a really good counter, too.

He kind of plays off that, then he gets you into his games and before you know it he’s trying to set you up. He’s a very talented player, man.

Will you watch the 2014 Pro Bowl?

Submit Vote vote to see results

Meanwhile, Seahawks trash-talking cornerback Richard Sherman was selected to the Pro Bowl for the second straight year after recording eight interceptions in consecutive seasons. However, unlike the Texans and Rams, the Seahawks are a favorite to reach Super Bowl XLVIII, which means Sherman could wind up skipping the trip to Honolulu next month.

On Jan. 22, captains Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders will draft the selected players to their respective teams to form the two rosters. 

The 2014 Pro Bowl is scheduled for Sunday, Jan. 26 at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu.

Follow _Pat_Clarke on Twitter

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.