NFL Honors 2013: Grading Selections for Football's Marquee Awards

Alex BallentineFeatured ColumnistFebruary 2, 2013

GREEN BAY, WI - JANUARY 05:  Running back Adrian Peterson #28 of the Minnesota Vikings runs the ball against the Green Bay Packers during the NFC Wild Card Playoff game at Lambeau Field on January 5, 2013 in Green Bay, Wisconsin.  (Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images)
Andy Lyons/Getty Images

The NFL's second annual "NFL Honors" ceremony acknowledges the winner of the NFL's most celebrated personal achievements. 

The 2012-13 season saw plenty of incredible single-season efforts from well-known and emerging names alike, which made the race for some of these individual awards especially competitive. After a full season's worth of debating, we finally know who will go down in the record books as the best performers in 2013. 

However, the voters don't always get everything right. Individual awards are always subjective and can be controversial due to personal criteria for each award. Here's a look at the winners of the most celebrated awards and a grades for the voters' selections. 


Offensive Rookie of the Year: Robert Griffin III, B+ 

RGIII emerged from one of the deepest Rookie of the Year races in recent memory to win the Offensive Rookie of the Year award. 

Griffin was deserving of the award. He was as dynamic as any quarterback in the league and led the Redskins to a playoff berth. His 20 touchdowns to five interceptions showed the kind of deadly efficiency he possessed as a passer and his contributions to the rushing game are well documented.

There shouldn't be controversy surrounding the award, but Andrew Luck or Russell Wilson could have won the award and it would have been justified. All three quarterbacks led their teams to the playoffs and put up great numbers doing it.


Coach of the Year: Bruce Arians, A-

 Bruce Arians was put in an extremely difficult situation when he became interim head coach of the Indianapolis Colts. Taking over a team that went 2-14 in 2011 with a rookie quarterback at the helm is a position that many coaches would have a tough time navigating.

Arians managed the situation masterfully and was a big reason why the Colts qualified for the playoffs, despite all of the adversity that came against them.

Great coaching at the NFL level is more than X's and O's; it's about leadership. Arians was the perfect example of leadership this season and it's good to see his efforts rewarded with the Coach of the Year award. 

There were teams that had a better record than the Colts but it's hard to argue that anyone was more deserving than Arians.


MVP: Adrian Peterson, A+

The voters ensured that the MVP award still means something when they tabbed Adrian Peterson as the Most Valuable Player this season. 

No one meant more to their team. Week after week Peterson faced loaded fronts to take away the run and he still ripped off huge games with regularity. Few men have rushed for 2,000 yards in one season and Peterson did it in a season where his team could not have been as successful without that kind of contribution from him. 

The lazy choice for the award would have been Peyton Manning. Quarterbacks win the award every year and the voters showed that they still understand the concept of "most valuable" by selecting Peterson for the award.