NFL Honors Award Show 2012: Preview, TV Info and Predictions

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
NFL Honors Award Show 2012: Preview, TV Info and Predictions
Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

The NFL is going Hollywood on its end of the year awards for 2012.

All the biggest stars will be on hand and there will even be a red carpet.

The only catch is that it will be in Indianapolis instead of Hollywood and it's on a Saturday instead of a Sunday because of some game called the Super Bowl the following night.

Where: Murat Theater, Indianapolis, Indiana

When: Saturday Feb. 4th, 9 p.m. EST

Watch: NBC

Here are the seven Associated Press awards.


The league's Most Valuable Player award has been won by Peyton Manning or Tom Brady in each of the last four years.

Who Deserves the MVP Award?

Submit Vote vote to see results

That is going to change on Saturday night (although one could make a compelling case for Tom), as the AP's decision is going to come down to Aaron Rodgers and Drew Brees.

The two quarterbacks were knocked out of the playoffs in the divisional round, but the award is for the regular season and both quarterbacks put up record-setting numbers this year.

For a long time this award was Aaron Rodgers' to lose, but don't be surprised if Brees is at the podium as well.

Prediction: Aaron Rodgers and Drew Brees (Co-MVPs)

Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award

One player from every team is nominated for this award each year in recognition of their humanitarian work.

The winner is awarded $25,000 to the charity of his choice.

Prediction: Tim Tebow

Coach of the Year

Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

A case can be made for a number of coaches this year, but the decision will come down to Mike McCarthy and Jim Harbaugh.

The Packers were 15-1 in the regular season and earned a No. 1 seed in the NFC. The 13-3 49ers weren't far behind and earned a No. 2 seed in the NFC.

Harbaugh was a difference-maker, though and he turned a team that a had a top-10 pick last year into a Super Bowl contender.

Prediction: Jim Harbaugh

Comeback Player of the Year

The decision for comeback player of the year isn't always easy, but this year there is no dispute.

Rich Schultz/Getty Images

After missing two seasons of football because he accidentally shot himself in the leg, Plaxico Burress' 45 catches, 612 yards and eight touchdowns seal the deal.

Prediction: Plaxico Burress

Offensive Player of the Year

Aaron Rodgers and Drew Brees will again battle it out for an award. This time there will be no split.

Prediction: Aaron Rodgers

Patrick McDermott/Getty Images

Defensive Player of the Year

This will be arguably the most disputed award. Two particular players, Jared Allen of the Vikings and Terrell Suggs of the Ravens, separated themselves from the pack this year, though.

However, Suggs did it for a winning team.

Prediction: Terrell Suggs

Offensive Rookie of the Year

This award belongs to Cam Newton. End of story.

Prediction: Cam Newton

Defensive Rookie of the Year

A showdown between pass-rushers will decide the defensive rookie of the year award: Aldon Smith vs. Von Miller.

Prediction: Aldon Smith

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.