Each MLB Contender's Dream October Matchup

« Prev
1 of 10
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Each MLB Contender's Dream October Matchup
Christian Petersen/Getty Images
Tim Lincecum and the Giants celebrate the 2010 championship

The San Francisco Giants are the reigning World Series champions, after winning it all in 2010.  The Giants defeated Atlanta, Philadelphia and Texas to win their first ever title since moving to San Francisco in 1958. 

The Giants' last world championship, prior to last season, came in 1954 against the Cleveland Indians.  At that time, the team was still playing in New York.  Only the Chicago Cubs and Cleveland Indians have had longer championship droughts than the Giants, before last year.

With the 2011 regular season only a couple of weeks from ending, the four playoff teams from each league are pretty well set.  Each of those eight teams has a dream playoff matchup.

Most of these dream scenarios will not occur this year because the rival opponent is not in a playoff position.  Nevertheless, let's take a look at those ideal dream series'.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.