2011 Pittsburgh Steelers Preview: An Early Look At Who Makes The 53-Man Roster

Joseph BrunoCorrespondent IMay 12, 2011

2011 Pittsburgh Steelers Preview: An Early Look At Who Makes The 53-Man Roster

0 of 11

    ARLINGTON, TX - FEBRUARY 06:  Antwaan Randle El #82 of the Pittsburgh Steelers reacts during against the Green Bay Packers during the third quarter of Super Bowl XLV at Cowboys Stadium on February 6, 2011 in Arlington, Texas.  (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Ge
    Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

    Now that the draft is over there really is not much to look forward to in the NFL given what’s going on with the labor situation.

    Free agency has not been allowed to start, and teams are not allowed to meet for organized activities or camps.

    So we fans are left here to do nothing more than speculate on the future, and although I cannot predict a free agent coming in or an unknown guy having a great camp and making the team at this point, here is who I see making the Steelers 53 man roster.

Quarterback

1 of 11

    ARLINGTON, TX - FEBRUARY 06:  Ben Roethlisberger #7 of the Pittsburgh Steelers celebrates after Rashard Mendenhall #34 ran for an eight yard touchdown against the Green Bay Packers in the third quarter of Super Bowl XLV at Cowboys Stadium on February 6, 2
    Joe Robbins/Getty Images

    Obviously the Steelers are set at starting quarterback for the 2011 season barring injury or any other unforeseen circumstances.

    Ben Roethlisberger is one of the best, if not the best, quarterback in the NFL right now and is currently in the prime of his career.

    Behind him though, Byron Leftwich is the only other quarterback under contract at the moment with Dennis Dixon and Charlie Batch being free agents.

    Most thought the Steelers would trade Dennis Dixon but now that the draft is past, I think he will stick with the team for at least one more year.

    Although I think Charlie Batch performed admirably last season when called upon, I do not foresee a situation occurring in which the Steelers would need him to start again, which unfortunately leaves him as the odd man out.

     

    Starter: Ben Roethlisberger

    Backup: Byron Leftwich

    Third String: Dennis Dixon

     

    Gone: Charlie Batch

     

    Roster Spots: 3

Half Back

2 of 11

    TAMPA, FL - SEPTEMBER 26:  Running back Rashard Mendenhall #34 of the Pittsburgh Steelers runs the ball against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers during the game at Raymond James Stadium on September 26, 2010 in Tampa, Florida. The undefeated Steelers won 38-13.
    J. Meric/Getty Images

    Regardless of what Rashard Mendenhall tweets, he is going to be the Steelers starting running back when the season starts.

    Mendenhall has become one of the best all around running backs in the league and only continues to get better.

    Isaac Redman is a bowling ball and I think the Steelers would finally admit that it was a mistake to keep Frank Summers over Redman a couple years ago.

    Look for Redman to get a lot more carries this coming season, and if 2nd year guy Jonathan Dwyer can have a good camp, look for him to get more time too.

    Although Mendenhall has improved a lot in the passing game, the Steelers still need a true third down back, and I do not think they are going to resign Mewelde Moore.

    This leaves this year’s 7th round pick, Baron Batch, with the opportunity to really contribute to the team in his rookie year, and I think he will.

     

    Starter Rashard Mendenhall

    Primary Backup/Short Yardage: Isaac Redman

    Third Down Back: Baron Batch

    Backup: Jonathan Dwyer

    Full Back: David Johnson/Doug Legursky

     

    Gone: Mewelde Moore, James Johnson

     

    Roster Spots: 4

Wide Receiver

3 of 11

    CINCINNATI - NOVEMBER 08:  Mike Wallace #17 of the Pittsburgh Steelers  celebrates after scoring a touchdown against the Cincinnati Bengals at Paul Brown Stadium on November 8, 2010 in Cincinnati, Ohio.  (Photo by Matthew Stockman/Getty Images)
    Matthew Stockman/Getty Images

    The Steelers receiving core has seen a real youth movement and that starts with Mike Wallace, who has become one of the most exciting players to watch in the NFL.

    The team will also benefit greatly from the development from last year’s rookies, Emmanuel Sanders and Antonio Brown.

    Sanders and Brown will be called upon to contribute a lot more in their second seasons and will make the Steelers offense just that more potent.

    With all these young guys, you cannot forget about Hines Ward, who still has enough left in the tank, in my opinion, to be the starter in Pittsburgh this season.

    Hines may not have the speed, but he still has great hands and is a nice security blanket for Ben Roethlisberger to fall back.

    This leaves Antwaan Randle El and Arnaz Battle as the last two legitimate options to make the team and I think it will come down to special teams.

    The Steelers could elect to keep Randle El as an insurance policy at returner but I think it’s time they cut ties with him.

    Battle may not be used much, if at all as a receiver, however he is an important part of the Steelers special teams.

     

    Starter: Mike Wallace

    Starter: Hines Ward

    Third/Slot: Emmanuel Sanders

    Fourth: Antonio Brown

    Fifth: Arnaz Battle

     

    Gone: Antwaan Randle El, Tyler Grisham, Wes Lyons, Limas Sweed

     

    Roster Spots: 5

Tight End

4 of 11

    PITTSBURGH, PA - JANUARY 15: Tight end Heath Miller #83 of the Pittsburgh Steelers catches the ball for a touchdown against the Baltimore Ravens in the third quarter of the AFC Divisional Playoff Game at Heinz Field on January 15, 2011 in Pittsburgh, Penn
    Nick Laham/Getty Images

    After a career year in 2009, Heath Miller came back to what he normally averages in a season, greatly due to the suspension of Ben Roethlisberger, and continues to be one of the most underrated tight ends in the league.

    Even though I do not think Spaeth has done anything to retain a roster spot on the Steelers, Bruce Arians loves him and he will probably be back.

    David Johnson has the potential to become a solid number two tight end for the Steelers but the team seems content to use him more as a blocking full back.

    It would be good for the offense in my opinion if they started to use Johnson more in the passing game.

     

    Starter: Heath Miller

    Backup: Matt Spaeth

    Backup: David Johnson

     

    Gone: Eugene Bright, Jamie McCoy

     

    Roster Spots: 3

Offensive Line

5 of 11

    BALTIMORE - NOVEMBER 29:  Willie Colon #74 of the Pittsburgh Steelers defends against the  Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium on November 29, 2009 in Baltimore, Maryland. The Ravens defeated the Steelers 20-17. (Photo by Larry French/Getty Images)
    Larry French/Getty Images

    There is a little bit of a question mark on the right side of the offensive line because we do not know for sure if Willie Colon is coming back, or if the Steelers really intend to switch him to guard.

    I think the starting lineup I have here would be great for the Steelers going along with solid backups across the board.

    Some might think it is impossible that the Steelers keep 11 offensive linemen however, with both Max Starks and Willie Colon coming off injury and Flozell Adams being in probably his last year, why not?

    Jonathan Scott and Doug Legursky were crucially important to the team last season and Ramon Foster has shown to be a solid backup.

    Marcus Gilbert is a future starter on the line and the Steelers seem to be really high on last year’s rookie, Chris Scott.

    Keith Williams has a great shot to make the team this year, although I would not be surprised if the team opted to keep him on the practice squad.

     

    Left Tackle: Max Starks

    Left Guard: Chris Kemoeuatu

    Center: Maurkice Pouncey

    Right Guard: Willie Colon

    Right Tackle: Flozell Adams

    Backup: Marcus Gilbert

    Backup: Chris Scott

    Backup: Jonathan Scott

    Backup: Ramon Foster

    Backup: Keith Williams

    Backup: Doug Legursky

     

    Gone: Dorian Brooks, Trai Essex, Nevin McCaskill, Tony Hills

     

    Roster Spots: 11

Defensive Line

6 of 11

    BALTIMORE, MD - DECEMBER 05: Brett Keisel #99 of the Pittsburgh Steelers stands on the field against the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium on December 5, 2010 in Baltimore, Maryland.  (Photo by Geoff Burke/Getty Images)
    Geoff Burke/Getty Images

    The Steelers’ defensive line is one of the best in the NFL, in my opinion, with two of the most underrated players in Aaron Smith and Brett Keisel, and then big Casey Hampton in the middle.

    Then when Aaron Smith was injured for the majority of last season, Ziggy Hood came in and the defense did not miss a beat.

    Now the Steelers just added first round pick Cameron Heyward with Hood, as the future of the team’s defensive line.

    To round out the line I have the team bringing back Chris Hoke, who has quietly been a really solid backup for the Steelers, for one more season.

     

    Starter: Aaron Smith

    Starter: Brett Keisel

    Starter: Casey Hampton

    Backup: Ziggy Hood

    Backup: Cameron Heyward

    Backup: Chris Hoke

     

    Gone: Nick Eason, Ra’Shon Harris, Steve McLendon

     

    Roster Spots: 6

Linebacker

7 of 11

    PITTSBURGH, PA - JANUARY 15:  Linebacker LaMarr Woodley #56 of the Pittsburgh Steelers reacts after recovering a fumble by the Baltimore Ravens in the third quarter of the AFC Divisional Playoff Game at Heinz Field on January 15, 2011 in Pittsburgh, Penns
    Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

    We go from one strength on the team to THE strength on the team in the Steelers linebacker core.

    The Steelers have the best pair of outside linebackers in the league in James Harrison and LaMarr Woodley, with Lawrence Timmons and James Farrior in the middle.

    Keyaron Fox is a free agent and I would be surprised if he was brought back because the team still has Larry Foote as the primary veteran backup.

    Jason Worilds will get a lot more playing time this season and showed the potential to get to the quarterback in his limited time as a rookie.

    The Steelers used Sylvester at both inside and outside linebacker in his rookie season but he is the future replacement for James Farrior on the inside.

    Christopher Carter is in a great position because he has the ability to sit behind all these great linebackers and then contribute more next year.

     

    Starter: James Harrison

    Starter: Lawrence Timmons

    Starter: James Farrior

    Starter: LaMarr Woodley

    Backup: Jason Worilds

    Backup: Stevenson Sylvester

    Backup: Larry Foote

    Backup: Christopher Carter

     

    Gone: Keyaron Fox, Chris McCoy, Mortty Ivy, Chris Ellis, Baraka Atkins

     

    Roster Spots: 8

Cornerback

8 of 11

    PITTSBURGH - OCTOBER 03:  Ike Taylor #24 of the Pittsburgh Steelers intercepts a pass from Joe Flacco #5 in front of Derrick Mason #85 of the Baltimore Ravens during the game on October 3, 2010 at Heinz Field in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  (Photo by Jared
    Jared Wickerham/Getty Images

    I know that there is no guarantee that the Steelers are able to bring back Ike Taylor, however, I still think it is going to happen.

    Bryant McFadden has come under fire from Steelers fans but until I actually see someone else step up in camp or wherever, he is still the starter alongside Ike.

    Keenan Lewis needs to show up in camp to save his job, and he will be competing with Crezdon Butler for that third spot.

    If Lewis cannot beat out Butler, than I see him either being converted to safety, or being cut from the team.

    I would not be surprised to see Curtis Brown get playing time this season however, Cortez Allen is pretty much redshirting in 2011.

    Look out for Donovan Warren making the team or Anthony Madison sneaking onto the roster for special teams.

    This just leaves William Gay, who has shown repeatedly that he has trouble covering anything that moves on the field, and will hopefully be cut.

     

    Starter: Ike Taylor

    Starter: Bryant McFadden

    Third Corner: Keenan Lewis

    Fourth Corner: Crezdon Butler

    Fifth Corner: Curtis Brown

    Sixth Corner: Cortez Allen

     

    Gone: Donovan Warren, William Gay, Anthony Madison

     

    Roster Spots: 6

Safety

9 of 11

    PITTSBURGH - SEPTEMBER 12:  Troy Polamalu #43 of the Pittsburgh Steelers catches an interception thrown by Matt Ryan #2 of the Atlanta Falcons during the NFL season opener game on September 12, 2010 at Heinz Field in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  (Photo by J
    Jared Wickerham/Getty Images

    Troy Polamalu is the reigning Defensive Player of the Year and will be back to his playmaking self this season.

    Although Ryan Clark is getting older, he still plays great with Troy on the field and gives the Steelers that big hitter in the secondary.

    I thought it was a great signing last season when the Steelers got Will Allen however, it turned out that he was just an expensive, injury proned special teamer.

    I think the Steelers can stand to cut Allen and keep Ryan Mundy, who played well for Troy when he was injured.

    I am also assuming that Da’Mon Cromartie-Smith has a good camp and shows the potential that we all saw in him in last year’s camp.

     

    Starter: Troy Polamalu

    Starter: Ryan Clark

    Backup: Ryan Mundy

    Backup: Da’Mon Cromartie-Smith

     

    Gone: Will Allen, Tuff Harris

     

    Roster Spots: 4

Special Teams

10 of 11

    PITTSBURGH, PA - JANUARY 15:  Kicker Shaun Suisham #6 of the Pittsburgh Steelers kicks an extra point against the Baltimore Ravens during the AFC Divisional Playoff Game at Heinz Field on January 15, 2011 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  (Photo by Nick Laham
    Nick Laham/Getty Images

    The Steelers lost both their starting kicker and punter last season and I really think they are going to bring in an undrafted free agent kicker in camp.

    Until the team is allowed to bring in free agents however, Shaun Suisham has to be the favorite to be brought back as kicker.

    Daniel Sepulveda is one of the best punters in the NFL, however, he can’t seem to stay healthy and the Steelers could be looking for a replacement.

    I like Greg Warren as the Steelers long snapper, however, he has had trouble staying healthy, and almost lost his job to Matt Stewart last season.

     

    Kicker: Shaun Suisham

    Punter: Daniel Sepulveda

    Long Snapper: Greg Warren

    Returner: Antonio Brown

     

    Gone: Swayze Waters, Jeremy Kapinos

     

    Roster Spots: 3

Practice Squad

11 of 11

    INDIANAPOLIS, IN - MARCH 2: Defensive back Donovan Warren of Michigan runs the 40 yard dash during the NFL Scouting Combine presented by Under Armour at Lucas Oil Stadium on March 2, 2010 in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by Scott Boehm/Getty Images)
    Scott Boehm/Getty Images

    I think the Steelers 2011 practice squad could look pretty similar to the 2010 practice squad with some minor changes.

    A change I could see is Donovan Warren being picked up by another team or him actually making the team and Da’Mon Cromartie-Smith being placed here.

     

    WR Tyler Grisham

    G Dorian Brooks

    OT Kyle Jolly

    RB James Johnson

    DT Steve McLendon

    CB Donovan Warren

    TE Eugene Bright

    LB Chris McCoy