NFL 2010 Season Review: Pittsburgh Steelers Game Predictions

Nick SignorelliSenior Writer IJanuary 5, 2011

NFL 2010 Season Review: Pittsburgh Steelers Game Predictions

0 of 17

    BALTIMORE, MD - DECEMBER 05:  Mike Tomlin head coach of the Pittsburgh Steelers looks on during the game against the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium on December 5, 2010 in Baltimore, Maryland. Pittsburgh won 13-10.  (Photo by Geoff Burke/Getty Images
    Geoff Burke/Getty Images

    Prior to the start of the 2010 NFL season, every fan of every team has high hopes, thinking that 2010 could be the year for their team to take the next step. As a Pittsburgh Steelers fan, we had a lot to think about writing these, based on the offseason turmoil surrounding the Steelers.

    Ben Roethlisberger suspension, Santonio Holmes trade, Willie Colon injury, aging defense, poor offensive line play...

    The list goes on and on.

    Fans of many other teams were quick to point out all of those weaknesses, with predictions ranging from, 4-12 to 8-8 in most cases.

    Some Steelers fans were even in on the second guessing of the Rooney Family, and their decisions. Other of us, well, lets just say, we had more faith in the Black and Gold.

    Here is my review of my preview from prior to the start of the 2010 season.

    For the original article that I posted, click here.

Week 1 Vs Atlanta Falcons

1 of 17

    PITTSBURGH - SEPTEMBER 12:  Rashard Mendenhall #26 of the Pittsburgh Steelers runs past Erik Coleman #26 of the Atlanta Falcons for a 50-yard game winning touchdown in overtime during the NFL season opener game on September 12, 2010 at Heinz Field in Pitt
    Jared Wickerham/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers 24

    Falcons 13

    Final Score:

    Steelers 15

    Falcons 9 (OT)

    The Steelers started the season out on fire, at least from a defensive point of view. They held Matt Ryan in check, and stifled the Falcons ground game to the tune of 58 yards on 25 carries.

    Though the Steelers offense was obviously suffering from the Roethlisberger suspension, the defense was so good, even getting the ball first in over time, the Falcons could not move the ball.

    1-0.

Week 2 @ Tennessee Titans

2 of 17

    NASHVILLE, TN - SEPTEMBER 19:  Lawrence Timmons #94 of the Pittsburgh Steelers tackles Bo Scaife #80 of the Tennessee Titans at LP Field on September 19, 2010 in Nashville, Tennessee. The Steelers won 19-11.  (Photo by Grant Halverson/Getty Images)
    Grant Halverson/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers - 20

    Titans - 17

    Final Score:

    Steelers - 19

    Titans - 11

    The Steelers defense was even more dominant that I expected them to be. Though the Steelers kept the Titans to only 11 points, I was still pretty close.

    I said that if the Titans were going to win, it was not because of Chris Johnson, and that Vince Young would have to lead the team through the air. Didn't happen, as Young was pulled from the game in favor of Kerry Collins, and Collins looked more scared than anything.

    2-0

Week 3 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers

3 of 17

    TAMPA, FL - SEPTEMBER 26:  Defensive end Brett Keisel #99 of the Pittsburgh Steelers scores a touchdown after incepting a pass against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers during the game at Raymond James Stadium on September 26, 2010 in Tampa, Florida. The undefeate
    J. Meric/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers - 31

    Buccaneers - 0

    Final Score:

    Steelers - 38

    Buccaneers - 13

    The game was not even as close as the score was!

    The Steelers held the Buccaneers to under 100 total yards, until the fourth quarter, when they rested their starters.

    Tampa Bay would go on to come only one game from making the playoffs, which means that this team was actually better than they played in this game. Probably has to do with the dominant defense that the Steelers have.

Week 4 VS Baltimore Ravens

4 of 17

    PITTSBURGH - OCTOBER 03:  Willis McGahee #23 of the Baltimore Ravens tries to escape the tackle of Lawrence Timmons #94 of the Pittsburgh Steelers on October 3, 2010 at Heinz Field in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Baltimore won the game 17-14.  (Photo by Greg
    Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers - 24

    Ravens - 21

    Final Score:

    Steelers - 14

    Ravens - 17

    Though the Steelers failed at the clean sweep without Ben Roethlisberger, they held the Ravens until the final minute of the game, when Bryant McFadden gave up a TD to TJ Whosyourdaddy (I refuse to write his correct name since he defaced the Terrible Towel).

    Record: 3-1

Week 6 Vs Cleveland Browns

5 of 17

    PITTSBURGH - OCTOBER 17:  Ben Roethlisberger #7 of the Pittsburgh Steelers celebrates a second quarter touchdown pass with Max Starks #78 and Maurkice Pouncey #53 behind Shaun Rogers #92 of the Cleveland Browns on October 17, 2010 at Heinz Field in Pittsb
    Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers - 35

    Browns - 10

    Final Score:

    Steelers - 28

    Browns - 10

    The Steelers didn't do as great a job as I thought they would have, at least from an offensive perspective. They still spanked the Browns, as I said they would.

    4-1

Week 7 @ Miami Dolphins

6 of 17

    MIAMI - OCTOBER 24:  Receiver Brian Hartline #82 fumbles after being hit by cornerback Bryant Mcfadden #20 of the Pittsburgh Steelers  at Sun Life Stadium on October 24, 2010 in Miami, Florida.  (Photo by Marc Serota/Getty Images)
    Marc Serota/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers - 23

    Dolphins - 21

    Final Score:

    Steelers - 23

    Dolphins - 22

    I was only off by 1 point!

    I know a lot of people are quick to talk about how the Steelers were given this game, but reality is, the rule was called as it is written, and those that don't agree, need to get over it.

    5-1

Week 8 @ New Orleans Saints

7 of 17

    NEW ORLEANS, LA - OCTOBER 31: Jeremy Shockey #88 of the New Orleans Saints is tackled by Troy Polamalu #43 of the Pittsburgh Steelers at the Louisiana Superdome on October 31, 2010 in New Orleans, Louisiana. (Photo by Matthew Sharpe/Getty Images)
    Matthew Sharpe/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers - 28

    Saints - 31

    Final Score:

    Steelers - 10

    Saints - 20

    I knew that the law of average would eventually catch up with the Steelers, and they would have to lose. What better time than Prime Time, against the defending Super Bowl Champions?

    6-1

Week 9 @ Cincinnati Bengals

8 of 17

    PITTSBURGH - DECEMBER 12:  Mewelde Moore #21 of the Pittsburgh Steelers runs with the ball against the Cincinnati Bengals during the game on December 12, 2010 at Heinz Field in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  (Photo by Jared Wickerham/Getty Images)
    Jared Wickerham/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers - 28

    Bengals - 24

    Final Score:

    Steelers - 27

    Titans - 21

    The Steelers had a serious chip on their shoulders, having not only lost the 2009 AFC North crown to the Bengals, but being swept along the way. The Black and Gold were out for revenge, and they got it.

    7-1

Week 10 Vs New England Patriots

9 of 17

    PITTSBURGH, PA - NOVEMBER 14:  Heath Miller #83 of the Pittsburgh Steelers runs with the ball against the New England Patriots during the game on November 14, 2010 at Heinz Field in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  (Photo by Jared Wickerham/Getty Images)
    Jared Wickerham/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers - 27

    Patriots - 13

    Final Score:

    Steelers - 26

    Patriots - 39

    OK, I was WAY off on this one.  What can I say, no one is perfect.

    7-2

Week 11 Vs Oakland Raiders

10 of 17

    PITTSBURGH, PA - NOVEMBER 21:  Antonio Brown #84 of the Pittsburgh Steelers evades tacklers during a punt return against the Oakland Raiders during the game on November 21, 2010 at Heinz Field in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  (Photo by Jared Wickerham/Getty
    Jared Wickerham/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers - 21

    Raiders - 13

    Final Score:

    Steelers - 35

    Raiders - 3

    I honestly thought that the Raiders were going to give the Steelers a better game than they did.  I knew that the Raiders would be much improved over the 2009 season, and they beat the Steelers then.

    8-2

Week 12 @ Buffalo Bills

11 of 17

    ORCHARD PARK, NY - NOVEMBER 28: Mike Wallace #17 of the Pittsburgh Steelers runs between Leodis McKelvin #28 and Drayton Florence #29 of the Buffalo Bills  at Ralph Wilson Stadium at Ralph Wilson Stadium on November 28, 2010 in Orchard Park, New York. Pit
    Rick Stewart/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers - 27

    Bills - 6

    Final Score:

    Steelers - 19

    Bills - 16 (OT)


    Though the Bills are a much better team than I thought they were going to be, and are a lot better than their record indicates, they were still just a dropped TD pass in over time from defeating the Steelers.

    I guess sometimes it is better to be lucky than good.

    9-2

Week 13 @ Baltimore Ravens

12 of 17

    BALTIMORE, MD - DECEMBER 05:  T.J. Houshmandzadeh #84 of the Baltimore Ravens runs the ball against Bryant McFadden #20 of the Pittsburgh Steelers during the first half of the game at M&T Bank Stadium on December 5, 2010 in Baltimore, Maryland. Pittsburgh
    Larry French/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers - 17

    Ravens - 20

    Final Score:

    Steelers - 13

    Ravens - 10

    I knew that the Steelers and Ravens would split their season series, I just thought that the Steelers at home had a better chance than with Ben Roethlisberger on the road.

    I was wrong, but hey, at least I got the split right.

    9-3

Week 14 Vs Cincinnati Bengals

13 of 17

    PITTSBURGH - DECEMBER 12:  Mike Wallace #17 of the Pittsburgh Steelers runs with the ball in front of Dhani Jones #57 of the Cincinnati Bengals during the game on December 12, 2010 at Heinz Field in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  (Photo by Jared Wickerham/Get
    Jared Wickerham/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers - 17

    Bengals  - 27

    Final Score:

    Steelers - 23

    Bengals - 7

    I honestly thought the Bengals were going to be better than they were.  I even stated in other articles that the Bengals could end up with the 6th seed.

    Teach me to give the Bungles any credit.

    9-4

Week 15 Vs New York Jets

14 of 17

    PITTSBURGH - DECEMBER 19:  Emmanuel Sanders #88 of the Pittsburgh Steelers evades a tackle by Brodney Pool #22 of the New York Jets during the game on December 19, 2010 at Heinz Field in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  (Photo by Jared Wickerham/Getty Images)
    Jared Wickerham/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers - 23

    Jets  - 17

    Final Score:

    Steelers - 17

    Jets - 22

    I hated seeing Santonio Holmes in another teams uniform.  True, Mike Wallace may not have had the growth that we saw this year if Tone was still on the team. But, Holmes always seemed to make a big play.  Imagine Wallace, with Holmes on the opposite side.  Would have been fun to watch.

    9-5

Week 16 Vs Carolina Panthers

15 of 17

    PITTSBURGH - DECEMBER 23:  Jimmy Clausen #2 of the Carolina Panthers is sacked by Brett Keisel #99 of the Pittsburgh Steelers during the game on December 23, 2010 at Heinz Field in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  (Photo by Jared Wickerham/Getty Images)
    Jared Wickerham/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers - 24

    Panthers  - 0

    Final Score:

    Steelers - 27

    Panthers - 3

    Was it just me, or were you furious when the Panthers decided to kick a short field goal, down by 27 points in the third quarter?  That was pretty much the point I knew that the Panthers had to fire John Fox.  He showed no guts!

    Hopefully, Mike Holmgren will decide that John Fox would be the perfect fit to coach the Browns.

    10-5

Week 17 @ Cleveland Browns

16 of 17

    CLEVELAND, OH - JANUARY 02:  Defenders Larry Foote #50, Lawrence Timmons #94 and James Harrison #92 of the Pittsburgh Steelers tackle tailback Peyton Hillis #40 of the Cleveland Browns at Cleveland Browns Stadium on January 2, 2011 in Cleveland, Ohio.  (P
    Matt Sullivan/Getty Images

    Original Prediction:

    Steelers - 21

    Browns  - 9

    Final Score:

    Steelers - 41

    Browns - 9

    Had I known that the Steelers needed to win this game, I would have made the score much different.  Had the Steelers sat Roethlisberger, Polamalu, Mendenhall, and the others I said, the score probably would have been closer to my prediction.

    But I still would have been right.

    11-5

Conclusion

17 of 17

    Yes, this is the same picture I used as the conclusion to the last article.
    Yes, this is the same picture I used as the conclusion to the last article.Jared Wickerham/Getty Images

    This is what I said in my conclusion to my original article.

    I have the Steelers finishing with a record of 13-3, winning the AFC North, and having one of the top two seeds in the NFL.

    Why? The Steelers' defense will carry them.

    Pittsburgh has one of the best defenses in the NFL. They will again be the top rated team against the run, and in the top three against the pass.

    Many of the people think that because Ben Roethlisberger is suspended for the first four games of the season, that the Steelers are in trouble.

    In their first four games, they have games at home against the Falcons and Ravens, while their away games are against the Titans, and the Buccaneers.

    There have been times in the last decade or so, that a team has had a horrible offense (2000 Ravens and 2002 Buccaneers), and because of a great defense, they were able to win the Super Bowl.

    Pittsburgh was ranked seventh in the NFL in offense last year, and just because Ben Roethlisberger is going to miss four games, that does not mean that the rest of the team is going to fall apart.

    Honestly though, it is better for the Steelers that everyone outside of Steelers Nation thinks they are going to be terrible. Pittsburgh plays better when they have a chip on their collective shoulder, and the chip right now is around the size of the Century III Mall.

    I think it is safe to say that I was pretty accurate. The Steelers did win the AFC North, and have the two seed, and the first round bye that goes along with it.

    Though I was two games off, I think I was pretty close with most of my picks.

    I hope you liked and, and hopefully, the Steelers will win #7!


    Thanks for reading.