San Francisco Giants Win The World Series: How Long Has It Been?

Asher ChanceySenior Analyst INovember 1, 2010

San Francisco Giants Win The World Series: How Long Has It Been?

0 of 13

    Elsa/Getty Images

    Congratulations to the San Francisco Giants, the 2010 Major League Baseball champions.

    By wiping out the Texas Rangers, the Giants won their sixth World Series and first since moving to San Francisco in 1958.

    It has been a long time coming for the San Francisco Giants. Just how long has it been?

    Let's have a look.

Twenty Other Champions

1 of 13

    A shocking 20 other major league teams have won a World Series since the Giants franchise last won a title in 1954.

    The only teams that have not won a World Series since then are the Cubs, Brewers, Astros, Nationals, Padres, Rockies, Rays, Indians, Rangers, and Mariners.

Eighteen Managers

2 of 13

    The 1954 Giants won the World Series under the guidance of manager Leo Durocher.

    Including Durocher, the Giants have had 18 managers since that title, finally winning again under manager No. 18, Bruce Bochy.

Sixteen Award Winners

3 of 13

    All told, the Giants have had 16 major-award winners during their World Series drought, including MVPs Willie Mays, Willie McCovey, Kevin Mitchell, Jeff Kent and Barry Bonds; Cy Young Award winners Mike McCormick and Tim Lincecum; and Rookies of the Year Orlando Cepeda, Willie McCovey, John Montefusco and Gary Matthews.

    Buster Posey will, in all likelihood, join the Rookies of the Year list this season.

Fourteen New Teams

4 of 13

    The last time the Giants won the World Series, they established themselves as the best of Major League Baseball's 16 teams.

    There are now 30 teams in the majors. Since 1954, Major League Baseball has added the California Angels, New York Mets, San Diego Padres, Houston Astros, Texas Rangers, Kansas City Royals, Montreal Expos, Milwaukee Brewers, Toronto Blue Jays, Seattle Mariners, Florida Marlins, Colorado Rockies, Tampa Bay Rays and Arizona Diamondbacks.

    Those teams have combined for 10 World Series titles during the time it took the Giants to win their first since 1954.

Eight Trips to The Playoffs

5 of 13

    The Giants won their first World Series in San Francisco in their eighth trip to the playoffs since 1954. In those eight trips, this is their fourth trip to the Fall Classic. They lost in 1962, 1989, and 2002.

Nine U.S. Presidents

6 of 13

    The last time the Giants franchise won a World Series, Dwight Eisenhower was the President of the United States. In fact, he was in his first term.

    There have been 10 Presidents since that last championship in 1954: John F. Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama.

Five Wars

7 of 13

    When the Giants won the World Series in 1954, Willie Mays had just returned from the Korean War.

    Including Korea, the United States has been involved in five wars since the beginning of the 1954 season, including Vietnam, Operation Desert Storm, the War in Iraq and the Afghanistan War.

Four Stadiums

8 of 13

    In 1954, the Giants won the World Series as inhabitants of the Polo Grounds in New York. They then moved to Seals Stadium in San Francisco, followed by Candlestick Park and then finally to PacBell Park/AT&T Park.

Four Baseball Lifetimes

9 of 13

    Four major-league Hall of Famers were born in 1954: Ozzie Smith, Andre Dawson, Gary Carter and Dennis Eckersley.

    That means that, in the time it took the Giants to win their first title since 1954, four people were born, learned to play baseball, made the majors and then joined the list of the greatest players ever to play the game.

Three Home Run Records

10 of 13

    When the Giants last won a World Series, Babe Ruth was the single-season home run record-holder with 60 home runs in 1927.

    In 1961, Roger Maris broke that record with 61 home runs for the Yankees.

    In 1998, the record was broken by both Mark McGwire and Sammy Sosa. And then in 2001 the record came to its current resting spot, in San Francisco with Barry Bonds, who hit 73.

Two Generations Of Griffeys and Alous, and Three Generations Of Boones

11 of 13

    Ray Boone was 30 years old the last time the Giants won a World Series. He retired six years later.

    His son Bob Boone debuted in 1972 and retired in 1990. His sons, Bret (1992-2005) and Aaron (1997-2009), each enjoyed entire careers between Giants World Series wins.

    So, too, did both Ken Griffey Sr. and Jr., Bobby and Barry Bonds, Felipe and Moises Alou, and Sandy Alomar Sr., Sandy Alomar, Jr. and Roberto Alomar. 

One Era Of Segregation Ended

12 of 13

    The last time the Giants won a World Series, 'separate but equal' was the law of the land, legally allowing segregation in schools, accommodations and most walks of American life.

    Ten years after the Giants last won the World Series, Congress passed the Civil Rights Act of 1964, ensuring that blacks had such fundamental rights, such as the right to vote.

One Hall of Fame Resume Cemented?

13 of 13

    Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

    Bruce Bochy was born in April of 1955, the spring following the Giants' last World Series victory.

    In this, his 16th season, Bochy made his second trip to the World Series and won his first title.

    With over 1,200 wins and now a championship title, one can only wonder whether Bochy has punched his ticket to Cooperstown.

    It has been a fine career for the Giants skipper and a fine season capped by a World Series crown.

    Congratulations to Bruce Bochy and to all of the members of the San Francisco Giants on winning the 2010 World Series.