Here are two, very similar videos. They are pretty entertaining. I always wondered how the coach of the offending team reacted to these refs? It couldn't have been pretty...
And do people think this next ref saw the first clip before this game?
Pic of the Day
And this is why the Umpire has been moved behind the line of scrimmage this year.
Stat of the Day:
Here is the rule that determined that Calvin Johnson's catch a few weeks ago was not a game-winning touchdown:
Article 3. Completed or Intercepted Pass. A player who makes a catch may advance the ball. A forward pass is complete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) if a player, who is inbounds:
(a) secures control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground; and
(b) touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands.
. . .
If the player loses the ball while simultaneously touching both feet or any part of his body other than his hands to the ground, or if there is any doubt that the acts were simultaneous, it is not a catch.
Item 1: Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.
Essentially, the player must maintain control throughout the entire process of the catch. You be the judge:
Like the new article format? Send us feedback!