NFL Hall of Fame Class of 2010: "Greatest Class of All-Time" (Video)

« Prev
1 of 8
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
NFL Hall of Fame Class of 2010:

On Saturday evening, seven NFL legends took center stage at Fawcett Stadium in Canton, Ohio for enshrinement into the league's Hall of Fame.

Those seven legends, who I am presenting to you in this slide show, are Rickey Jackson, Russ Grimm, John Randle, Emmitt Smith, Dick LeBeau, Floyd Little, and Jerry Rice. Together they comprise one of, if not the best, Hall of Fame classes ever.

Watching each inductee give their speech and take their place among the previously enshrined players I get goose bumps all over.

When I was younger, I remember dreaming about being one of the greatest football players of all time.

Even though physical limitations put that dream out of reach, I grew up with football. The sport is a huge part of my life and every Sunday spent watching football games has made my life that much more enjoyable—especially when I got to watch truly special players like the seven listed above.

The Hall of Fame is a place where each player, coach, or contributor enshrined within has contributed something so great to the sport they are considered among the greatest of all time.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame opened in 1963 with 17 inductees: Sammy Baugh, Bert Bell, Joseph Clark, Dutch Clark, Harold Grange, George Halas, Mel Hein, Pete Henry, Cal Hubbard, Don Hutson, Earl Lambeau, Tim Mara, George Preston Marshall, John McNally, Bronko Nagurski, Jim Brown, and Jimmy Conzelman.

With the addition of the 2010 class, the Hall of Fame now includes 260 all-time greats.

Through 2008, all but one of the player inductees played some part of their pro career in the NFL—the lone exception being Buffalo Bills guard Billy Shaw, who played his entire career in the American Football League (AFL) prior to the 1970 AFL-NFL merger.

Canton, Ohio was selected as the location for the Hall of Fame for three reasons: first, the NFL, then known as the American Professional Football Association, was founded in Canton in 1920; second, the now-defunct Canton Bulldogs were a successful NFL team based in Canton during the first few years of the league; and finally, the community of Canton successfully lobbied the NFL to have the Hall built in their city.

To be eligible for the nominating process, a player must have been retired at least five years, and as of 2007, a coach must also have been retired for five years. Any other contributor such as a team owner or executive can be voted in at any time.

I felt honored on August 7, 2010 to have watched the induction ceremony for this class because they are so great

Congratulations to each of them for making the NFL the greatest sport of all and for making my Sundays that much more enjoyable.

We have all witnessed one of the best, if not the best, Hall of Fame classes assume their rightful place in Canton amongst their fellow legends of the gridiron.

I hope you all enjoy this article. Do not be afraid to comment or like this article, but please show respect when commenting.  Thank you for your time!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow Dallas Cowboys from B/R on Facebook

Follow Dallas Cowboys from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Dallas Cowboys

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.