Green Bay PackersDownload App

The New AP Defensive Rookie Of The Year Results Are In

GREEN BAY, WI - DECEMBER 07: Clay Matthews #52 of the Green Bay Packers rushes against the Baltimore Ravens at Lambeau Field on December 7, 2009 in Green Bay, Wisconsin. The Packers defeated the Ravens 27-17. (Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)
Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images
Eric TurnerContributor IMay 12, 2010

At the end of last year, five players were selected as candidates to receive the AP Defensive Rookie of the Year award. These players are listed in order of how they placed below, with the number of votes they received in parentheses:

Houston Texans OLB Brian Cushing (39)

Buffalo Bills S Jarius Byrd (6)

Green Bay Packers OLB Clay Matthews (3)

Washington Redskins OLB Brian Orakpo (2)

Detroit Lions S Louis Delmas (0)

Brian Cushing completely ran away with the award, receiving 39 of the 50 available votes. That was before he tested positive for the NFL-banned substance, HCG. While HCG is a non-steroidal substance, it is still closely linked to the use of steroids.

Cushing tested positive for the substance back in September, though the AP had little to no knowledge of this at the time of the first voting.

After Cushing tested positive for the banned substance, the NFL swiftly handed down punishment, suspending him for 4 games at the beginning of the 2010 season. In light of this, the AP senior writers decided to do what had never been done before—Re-vote the Defensive Rookie of the Year with Cushing still eligible as a candidate. 

The votes are now in and go as follows:

Houston Texans OLB Brian Cushing (18)

Buffalo Bills S Jarius Byrd (13)

Green Bay Packers OLB Clay Matthews (10)

Washington Redskins OLB Brian Orakpo (3)

St. Louis MLB James Laurinaitis (1)

Three voters were not able to vote, and two abstained.

ESPN's own Chris Mortensen was one who abstained, who voted for Cushing the first time around.

Although Cushing did not lose the award, his number of votes dropped dramatically, with the main beneficiaries being Jarius Byrd and Clay Mathews.

Interestingly enough, James Laurinaitis received one vote in favor of Louis Delmas.

Overall, this outcome was for the best. If someone else had won the award, it would have been forever tainted. Who wants to win something based off of a technicality?

I know personally, I'm happy that Clay Matthews kept his position, not to say I wouldn't have been happy if he'd won.



Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices