Bengals' BenJarvus Green-Ellis Scores Controversial TD Against Colts

Kyle NewportFeatured ColumnistDecember 8, 2013

Bleacher Report

Already up 7-0 late in the first half over the Indianapolis Colts, the Cincinnati Bengals decided to go for it on 4th-and-goal from the 1-yard line.

Controversy ensued.

Running back BenJarvus Green-Ellis got the ball and appeared to have been tripped up by a Colts player, falling short of the goal line.

The ruling on the field was that Green-Ellis was down inside the 1-yard line. However, after a lengthy review, the referees overturned the call.

Many were baffled by the call, including @IndyStarSports:

Um, ref says BenJarvus Green-Ellis wasn't touched and therefore they've given #Bengals a TD. Video evidence doesn't really support that.

— IndyStar Sports (@IndyStarSports) December 8, 2013

The Cincinnati Enquirer's Joe Reedy provided some reasoning on the call after the game:

Pool report on the Green-Ellis touchdown — “There was nobody that touched him at the goal line."

— Joe Reedy (@joereedy) December 8, 2013

The touchdown gave the Bengals a 14-0 lead.

Was Green-Ellis tripped up, or did the referees make the right call by overturning the ruling on the field?