Cy Young Award 2013: AL and NL Winners, Voting Results and Analysis

Matt Fitzgerald@@MattFitz_geraldCorrespondent IIINovember 13, 2013

Getty Images

The Baseball Writers' Association of America voted on the American and National League Cy Young Award winners, and the results were announced Wednesday night on MLB Network.

For the AL, Detroit Tigers ace Max Scherzer took home the prestigious pitching accolade, while powerful Los Angeles Dodgers southpaw Clayton Kershaw did so in the NL.    

The win for Scherzer continued a recent reign of supremacy for Detroit. Not only did fellow Tiger Anibal Sanchez receive a first-place vote, but Scherzer joined teammate Justin Verlander as a recipient of the annual award that recognizes the best pitchers in baseball.

Scherzer led MLB with 21 wins and was first in the AL with a 0.97 WHIP while registering a 2.90 ERA and striking out 240 batters.

The nearly unanimous decision saw Scherzer collect 28 of the 30 first-place votes. He was followed by Texas Rangers star Yu Darvish, while Hisashi Iwakuma of the Seattle Mariners finished third.

Darvish was first in the majors in strikeouts, and with his impressive pitching arsenal, he certainly offered formidable competition. The fact that the voting margin was so wide is a testament to how great Scherzer was.

MLive Media Group reporter James Schmehl documented what Scherzer said in response to rumors that the Tigers could trade him, and whether it diminished the moment for him at all. The 29-year-old hurler wasn't fazed:

His reaction on Twitter after being interviewed in the wake of his Cy Young reveal seemed to corroborate that testimony:

MLB Network's Chris Rose couldn't help but poke fun at Scherzer in his moment of glory, though:

Verlander extended his congratulations to Scherzer on the achievement:

Since the voting was finished before the postseason started, it appeared that Kershaw had a big advantage over the NL. That was even after St. Louis Cardinals ace Adam Wainwright outperformed Kershaw in a head-to-head battle in the NLCS.

ST LOUIS, MO - OCTOBER 18:  Clayton Kershaw #22 of the Los Angeles Dodgers pitches in the first inning against the St. Louis Cardinals in Game Six of the National League Championship Series at Busch Stadium on October 18, 2013 in St Louis, Missouri.  (Pho
Dilip Vishwanat/Getty Images

However, Kershaw was sensational in leading MLB for the third straight season in ERA with a microscopic 1.83 while posting a 16-9 record for the Dodgers.

Kershaw won by another landslide, as he racked up 29 of the 30 first-place votes, while Wainwright got the only other one.

Kershaw joins some prestigious company in Dodgers franchise history with another lefty, per ESPN Stats & Info:

NL Rookie of the Year Jose Fernandez registered a .182 batting average against for the Miami Marlins, which made him a solid contender. Although Fernandez fell short this time around, the 21-year-old prodigy should have plenty of cracks at the Cy Young in the years to come.

Just looking at the regular season alone, though, Kershaw rightly prevailed. His 0.92 WHIP led all of baseball and 232 strikeouts led the NL.

It seemed pretty clear that Scherzer and Kershaw were the front-runners, and the voting results reflected that in crowning two well-deserving Cy Young Award winners.