Pete Carroll Costs Seattle Seahawks by Icing Falcons Kicker Matt Bryant

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Pete Carroll Costs Seattle Seahawks by Icing Falcons Kicker Matt Bryant
Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

Talk about shooting yourself in the foot. 

After a thrilling comeback that saw the Seattle Seahawks storm back from a 20-0 halftime deficit to take a 28-27 lead with just 31 seconds remaining, the Seahawks allowed Matt Ryan and the Atlanta Falcons to drive down the field and kick a game-winning 49-yard field goal.

So why all the controversy?

Prior to Matt Bryant's first attempt at the 49-yarder, Seattle head coach Pete Carroll was visibly seen standing next to the umpire on the sideline, calling timeout just prior to the Falcons' snap in an attempt to ice the kicker.

Courtesy of Fox

Bryant missed the first attempt, which would have most likely sealed the improbable come-from-behind win for the Seahawks; but Carroll's timeout negated the missed field goal, giving Atlanta a second chance to win the game.

Courtesy of Fox

On his second attempt, Bryant drilled the kick through the middle of the uprights to send the Falcons to the NFC championship game, leaving Carroll to answer a slew of questions as to why he would give the Falcons a practice kick.

We've seen a multitude of NFL coaches attempt to ice kickers in the past, and like it usually does, the plan backfired on Carroll and his team in the most crucial moment of the entire season.

ESPN's Mike Greenberg took to Twitter to give his followers his take on Carroll's blunder:

It was certainly an immense disappointment for the Seahawks, who scored 28 points in the second half to come roaring back in an attempt to oust Atlanta and meet the San Francisco 49ers in the NFC championship game.

Follow me on Twitter: 

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.