Miguel Cabrera and Mike Trout Headline 2012 Silver Slugger Recipients

Tyler ConwayFeatured ColumnistNovember 8, 2012

While Miguel Cabrera and Mike Trout are still likely white-knuckled over the upcoming announcement of the AL MVP award, both stars have something to celebrate Thursday night, as they headline the 2012 Silver Slugger Awards.

Revealed Thursday night on MLB Network, there weren't all that many surprises in either the National League or American League.

Cabrera, who became MLB's first Triple Crown winner since Carl Yastrzemski in 1967, was the unquestioned leader of the AL champion Detroit Tigers. For the season, Cabrera had a .330 batting average and hit 44 home runs along with 139 RBI.

Meanwhile, Trout put together perhaps the greatest rookie season in baseball history for the Los Angeles Angels. Just 21 years old, this Silver Slugger is undoubtedly the first of many for the young outfielder. 

The two stars join fellow MVP candidate Josh Hamilton and New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter, whose resurgent season got him a fifth Silver Slugger. 

Over in the National League, things were a rather standard affair as well.

NL Comeback Player of the Year Buster Posey continues his award-filled offseason, capturing his second award. And while the Pittsburgh Pirates couldn't quite get the .500 monkey off their back, fans can take solace in Andrew McCutchen getting yet another form of recognition.

Those notables join Ryan Braun, who received his fifth straight Silver Slugger, and three members of the Washington Nationals. 

With just about every candidate fully deserving of the distinction, here is a look at the full list of 2012 Silver Slugger Award winners.


2012 Silver Slugger Award Recipients (Via HardballTalk)


American League

First base: Prince Fielder, Detroit Tigers

Second base: Robinson Cano, New York Yankees

Third base: Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers

Shortstop: Derek Jeter, New York Yankees

Outfield: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels; Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers; Josh Willingham, Minnesota Twins

Catcher: A.J. Pierzynski, Chicago White Sox

Designated hitter: Billy Butler, Kansas City Royals


National League

Catcher: Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants

First base: Adam LaRoche, Washington Nationals

Second base: Aaron Hill, Arizona Diamondbacks

Third base: Chase Headley, San Diego Padres

Shortstop: Ian Desmond, Washington Nationals

Outfield: Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates; Jay Bruce, Cincinnati Reds; Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers

Pitcher: Stephen Strasburg, Washington Nationals