Fantasy Football: 3 Non-Quarterbacks Who Could Win the 2012 MVP

Ethan ArnoldCorrespondent ISeptember 2, 2012

Fantasy Football: 3 Non-Quarterbacks Who Could Win the 2012 MVP

0 of 3

    Over the last five years, the NFL MVP award has gone to a quarterback and in the last twelve seasons, 10 of the awards have gone to the quarterback position as well.

    Although it may seem like the MVP award has become a quarterback-only award, there have been other positions like running back, linebacker, defensive tackle and even kicker that have won the award (kicker, Mark Mosely won the MVP award back in 1982). If a quarterback doesn't earn the MVP honors in 2012, here are three guys that could.

RB Arian Foster

1 of 3

    Arian Foster missed three games last season but was still able to accumulate 1,224 rushing yards and 617 receiving yards. Foster is a back similar to Adrian Peterson; gifted with size and speed (6'1", 229 lbs), and is a legitimate threat in the run game as well as the passing game.

    Foster has the ability to rush for at least 1,500 yards and reel in enough passes to compile a 1,000 yards receiving. A season of that magnitude would almost guarantee Foster MVP honors.

RB LeSean McCoy

2 of 3

    LeSean McCoy's breakaway speed and extraordinary agility is reminiscent of the legendary Barry Sanders, who is arguably the best running back to ever play the game. In 2010, McCoy caught 73 passes from the running back position and if Michael Vick can stay healthy, he could act as the catalyst to a LeSean McCoy MVP season. 

WR Calvin Johnson

3 of 3

    Never has a wide receiver won the MVP award in NFL history but if there is one guy that could break this trend, it's Calvin Johnson. Johnson put together one of the most impressive NFL combines ever in 2007. At 6' 5", Johnson ran a 4.3 40-yard dash and topped it off with an imposing 43" vertical jump.

    When it is all said and done, Johnson could go down as the best receiver to play the game (yes, even better than Jerry Rice). One thing that may help his case against Hall of Famer Jerry Rice is an MVP trophy and after last season, Johnson looks to be capable.