England World Cup Roster: Ins and Outs For Capello's 23-Man Squad

Daniel GoochAnalyst IJune 1, 2010

LONDON, ENGLAND - MAY 11:  England coach Fabio Capello announces the England 2010 World Cup Squad at Wembley Stadium on May 11, 2010 in London, England.  (Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images)
Julian Finney/Getty Images

Straight to the point.

Here is the 23 man squad for England:

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart, David James, Robert Green.

Defenders: Jamie Carragher, Ashley Cole, Rio Ferdinand, Glen Johnson, Ledley King, John Terry, Matthew Upson, Stephen Warnock.

Midfielders: Gareth Barry, Michael Carrick, Joe Cole, Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, Aaron Lennon, James Milner, Shaun Wright-Phillips.

Strikers: Peter Crouch, Jermain Defoe, Emile Heskey, Wayne Rooney


Theo Walcott, the suprise pick at the 2006 World Cup, has missed out on the short list for this years World Cup.

Darren Bent, Leighton Baines, Michael Dawson, Tom Huddlestone, Scott Parker and Adam Johnson were the other six players not to make the cut.

Manchester City midfielder Barry was a close option but has proved his fitness after suffering an ankle injury at the end of the season, although he is not expected to play until the latter stages of the group phase.

I first thought that Capello made the right choice of cutting out Darren Bent, but that means Emile Heskey is in the team. I would rather have my mum be upfront than Heskey, but lets hope he proves me wrong.

The big names are in the team, like Rooney and Gerrard, but so is King who, in a previous arctile i said should be included.

England's campaign starts on 12th June, with their Group C opener against USA. Then they have further encounters with Slovenia and Algeria.