Brazil vs. Uruguay: Live Score, Highlights, Recap

Jerrad PetersWorld Football Staff WriterJune 26, 2013

Confederations Cup Semifinal: Brazil vs. Uruguay


June 26, 2013

Estadio Mineirao, Belo Horizonte

Referee: Enrique Osses (Chile)


41' Fred; 48' Cavani; 86' Paulinho


Brazil XI: Julio Cesar; Dani Alves, Thiago Silva, David Luiz, Marcelo; Luiz Gustavo, Paulinho; Hulk, Oscar, Neymar; Fred

Uruguay XI: Fernando Muslera; Diego Godin, Diego Lugano, Martin Caceres; Maxi Pereira, Egidio Arevalo, Alvaro Gonzalez, Cristian Rodriguez; Diego Forlan; Edinson Cavani, Luis Suarez



Paulinho’s late header put Brazil into the final of the 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup at the expense of South American neighbours Uruguay, who had done well to come back from a first-half deficit before ultimately coming second to a team that was simply more technically gifted and inspired.

Throughout the 90 minutes there was a nasty, physical undercurrent to this encounter, and at the final whistle referee Enrique Osses had written three of their names into his book.

The first quality scoring chance of the day came just prior to the quarter-hour mark when Brazil defender David Luiz was judged to have fouled Uruguay captain Diego Lugano in the box ahead of Diego Forlan’s corner. Forlan stepped up to take the resulting penalty but was saved spectacularly by Julio Cesar, and from there the hosts found themselves more firmly on the front-foot.

Fred finally opened the scoring just four minutes before the break when his miss-hit strike bounced into Fernando Muslera’s open net. Neymar had done ever so well to control Paulinho’s long pass and direct the ball on goal, and while Muslera made the stop he was in no position to save Fred’s rebound.

Edinson Cavani had things level shortly after the restart, however, when his low, well-placed shot beat Julio Cesar inside the far post.

Both sides traded a handful of chances after that, but just as it looked as though extra time would be needed to separate them Paulinho popped up to send Brazil through to the final against either Italy or Spain.