Premier League: Top 10 Contenders for the Golden Boot in the 2011-12 Season

« Prev
1 of 12
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Premier League: Top 10 Contenders for the Golden Boot in the 2011-12 Season
Dimitar Berbatov - Joint Golden Boot Winner (2010-11)

The Barclays Golden Boot, as it is now known for commercial purposes, represents the pinnacle of goal scoring charts in an English Premier League season.

According to statistics, since its creation in 1992, it takes an average of 24.04 goals per season to win the Golden Boot. Andy Cole and Alan Shearer scored the highest number goals in a single Premier League season to win the award in 1992-93 and 1993-94 respectively, both scoring 34 times.

Thierry Henry tops the standings, having won it an amazing 4 times with Arsenal in the 2001-02, 2003-04, 2004-05, and 2005-06 seasons.  This cemented his place as a Premier League legend. Alan Shearer won it 3 times in 1994-95 and 1995-96 with Blackburn, as well as 1996-97 with Newcastle, and along with Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink (Leeds & Chelsea), the only player to win it with more than one club in the Premier League. Henry and Shearer hold the distinction of being the only players to have won the Golden Boot for 3 consecutive seasons.

The only midfielder to be a Golden Boot recipient is the current world's most expensive player and Real Madrid star, Cristiano Ronaldo. He scored an incredible 31 goals in 34 games in the 2007-08 Premier League and Champions League winning season for Manchester United, playing predominantly as a winger. Astonishingly, Ronaldo also did so at 0.91 goals per game, which to date is the highest strike rate to win this accolade.

Players from seven different nations have won the Golden Boot, reflecting the increased numbers of foreign transfers in the English Premier League. In fact, since the turn of the century, no English player has actually won it.  The last player to win was Kevin Phillips in 1999-2000. However, winning the Golden Boot does not necessarily translate into league success for the team.  In the 19 seasons, prior to its inception, the Golden Boot winner has interestingly only been part of the Premier League champions eight times.

Let us take an in-depth look at the Top 10 candidates to win the Golden Boot in the 2011-12 Premier League campaign. 

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

Premier League

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.