2010 FIFA World Cup: Holland Coach Criticises Cup Final Ref Howard Webb

Daniel GoochAnalyst IJuly 12, 2010

JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA - JULY 11:  Referee Howard Webb issues Giovanni Van Bronckhorst of the Netherlands a yellow card during the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa Final match between Netherlands and Spain at Soccer City Stadium on July 11, 2010 in Johannesburg, South Africa.  (Photo by Lars Baron/Getty Images)
Lars Baron/Getty Images

Netherlands coach, Bert van Marwijk, has criticised English referee Howard Webb who was in charge of the Final, after his side was beaten 1-0 by Spain.

The match was full of fouls which lead to Webb booking 13 players and dismissing Dutchman Johnny Heitinga for two yellow cards.

"I don't think the referee controlled the match well," said Van Marwijk.

"Both sides committed fouls. That may be regrettable for a final. But the best team won the match."

The Dutch fans booed Howard Webb as he and his assistants walked up to collect their medals. 

It was an extremely challenging match for the officials, which produced a new record number of bookings for a World Cup final.

Nine out of the 13 bookings went to the Netherland players. They were very fortunate not to be reduced to 10 men in the first half. Nigel de Jong made a horrific tackle on Xabi Alonso, when he raised a boot and landed it on his chest.

Many fans and commentators watching the game, including Alan Shearer and I, thought that more of the tackles should have been punished.

I can't see how Van Marwijk thinks there were too many cards shown. There were at least three tackles that could have been worthy of a red, and many more that could have warranted a yellow card.

Webb took control of the game and dealt out his cards fairly. Van Marwijk is just trying to find someone to blame for his teams defeat.


World Cup Final Yellow Cards

14: Robin van Persie (Netherlands) for late tackle on Joan Capdevila

16: Carles Puyol (Spain) for late tackle on Arjen Robben 

21: Mark van Bommel (Netherlands) for late tackle on Andres Iniesta

22: Sergio Ramos (Spain) for foul on Dirk Kuyt 

27:  Nigel de Jong (Netherlands) for high tackle on Xabi Alonso 

53: Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Netherlands) for professional foul on Sergio Ramos

56: Johnny Heitinga (Netherlands) for unsporting behaviour

66: Joan Capdevila (Spain) for unsporting behaviour

83: Arjen Robben (Netherlands) for protesting a decision

108: Johnny Heitinga (Netherlands) is shown a second yellow and subsequently a red card for pulling back Andrea Iniesta

110: Gregory van der Wiel (Netherlands) for unsporting behaviour

117: Joris Mathijsen (Netherlands) for unsporting behaviour

117: Andres Iniesta (Spain) for removing his shirt

120: Xavi (Spain) for unsporting behaviour