2010 FIFA World Cup: United States Soccer Roster Cut To Final 23

Patrick McKennaContributor IMay 26, 2010

Bob Bradley has finally made his last cuts before the U.S. heads out to South Africa to train. Their first match is on June 12th against rival England.

Bradley cut seven players from his 30-man roster to get it down to 23 ahead of the World Cup.  Two of the most notable cuts he made were leaving out forwards Brian Ching and Eddie Johnson.  

These two players are on the mend from past injuries, but would have been back to 100% in time for the World Cup come two weeks from now.  They are also very dominate forward thinking strikers who have had great success at the club and national levels.  Leaving one would have made sense, but both of them that is a huge question Bradley needs to answer.

Although these two players got the axe, they still can be called up to play for the National team in South Africa if injuries start to occur.  Others cut from the U.S. National side included defensive players Chad Marshall and Heath Pearce.  

Both players underachieved and didn't look as if they could take on the pressure and heat when it comes time for the group stage to start in two weeks.  Also midfielders Alejandro Bedoya, Sacha Kljestan, and Robbie Rogers missed the finals cut.

The U.S. is looking to field the best squad it possibly can after finishing runners-up to Brazil in the FIFA Confederations Cup.  If the U.S. can duplicate this performance they will surely turn heads and capture the soccer world.

After last nights shaky warm-up game against the Czech Republic, in which Bradley played mainly bubble players, the U.S. will have to look to show a more solid performance in their final warm-up game before June 12th when they play Turkey on May 29th in Philadelphia.

The final 23 roster spots are as follows:


Brad Guzan (Aston Villa, England), Marcus Hahnemann (Wolverhampton, England), Time Howard (Everton, England).



Carlos Bocanegra (Rennes, France), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas, USA), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover, Germany), Jay DeMerit (Watford, England), Clarence Goodson (IK Start, Norway), Oguchi Onyewu (AC Milan, Italy), Jonathan Spector (West Ham, England).



DaMarcus Beasley (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland), Michael Bradley (Borussia Moenchengladbach, Germany), Ricardo Clark (Eintracht Frankfurt, Germany), Clint Dempsey (Fulham, England), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles), Maurice Holden (Bolton, England), Jose Torres (Pachuca, Mexico).



Jozy Altidore (Hull, England), Edson Buddle (Los Angeles), Robbie Findley (Salt Lake), Herculez Gomez (Puebla, Mexico).