Paraguay 2010 World Cup Roster: Barrios In, Cabanas Out

Michael MagorContributor IMay 11, 2010

SEOUL, SOUTH KOREA - AUGUST 12:  Paraguay national team line up during the international friendly match between South Korea and Paraguay at Seoul Worldcup stadium  on August 12, 2009 in Seoul, South Korea.  (Photo by Chung Sung-Jun/Getty Images)
Chung Sung-Jun/Getty Images

The 30 man Paraguayan squad has been named by coach Gerardo Martino. However, only 23 of them will make it to South Africa. Salvador Cabanas will have to root from the sidelines having literally taken one for the team. Cabanas was lucky to survive a gunshot to the head, and Paraguay will consider themselves somewhat lucky to escape Group F (Italy, New Zealand, and Slovakia).

Paraguay are ranked 30th in the world according to FIFA. According to me they are potentially a top 10 team. Having beaten both Brazil and Argentina on their road to qualifying for this year's World Cup (not to mention keeping clean sheets each time) they are definitely a force to be reckoned with.

While Paraguay may not have the luxury of calling up "legendary" players like Brazil (Ronaldo, Adriano, Ronaldinho, etc.) they are looking to create stars of their own. Oscar Cardozo has already made a name for himself by scoring 21 goals in 26 games for Benefica this year. He can score from almost anywhere also. Roque Santa Cruz isn't too shabby himself having notched a hat trick against Colombia, and scored three goals in World Cup qualifiers.

With a quick passing, fast paced midfield and an indomitable defense Paraguay will look to control the tempo of their matches. They'll enter the tournament a very confident side and will be tough to break down. Paraguay already beat two of the world's top teams and over six million fans at home are hoping they can do even better. 

Preliminary squad

Goalkeepers: Justo Villar (Valladolid/ESP), Aldo Bobadilla (Deportivo Independiente de Medellin/COL), Diego Barreto (Cerro Porteno)

Defenders: Claudio Morel Rodriguez (Boca Juniors/ARG), Denis Caniza (Leon/MEX), Paulo da Silva (Sunderland/ENG), Dario Veron (Pumas UNAM/MEX), Julio Cesar Caceres (Atletico Mineiro/BRA), Julio Manzur (Tigres/ARG), Carlos Bonet (Olimpia), Aureliano Torres (San Lorenzo de Almagro/ARG), Marcos Caceres (Racing/ARG), Antolin Alcaraz (FC Bruges/BEL)

Midfielders: Edgar Barreto (Atalanta/ITA), Cristian Riveros (Cruz Azul/MEX), Osvaldo Martinez (Monterrey/MEX), Victor Caceres (Libertad), Enrique Vera (Liga Deportiva Universitaria de Quito/ECU), Jonathan Santana (Wolfsburg/GER), Sergio Aquino (Libertad), Eduardo Ledesma (Lanus/ARG), Nestor Ortigoza (Argentinos Juniors/ARG), Marcelo Estigarribia (Newell's Old Boys/ARG)

Forwards: Roque Santa Cruz (Manchester City/ENG), Nelson Haedo Valdez (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Oscar Cardozo (Benfica/POR), Edgar Benitez (Toluca/MEX), Lucas Barrios (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Rodolfo Gamarra (Libertad), Jorge Achucarro (Newell's Old Boys/ARG)