La LigaDownload App

La Liga Table 2014: Standings, Fixtures, Title and Relegation Scenarios

VALLADOLID, SPAIN - MAY 07: Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid CF lies on the ground after being tackled during the La Liga match between Real Valladolid CF and Real Madrid CF at Estadio Jose Zorilla on May 7, 2014 in Valladolid, Spain.  (Photo by Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images)
Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images
Phil HaighContributor IDecember 22, 2016

The title race in La Liga looks to be falling into Atletico Madrid’s hands, after their city rivals Real were held to a 1-1 draw at Real Valladolid on Wednesday night.

Carlo Ancelotti’s side had led for much of the game after Sergio Ramos opened the scoring, but a late equaliser from Humberto Osorio has severely dented the title hopes of Los Merengues.

It was a disastrous night for the Copa del Rey winners, as star man Cristiano Ronaldo also limped off through injury in the first half.

La Liga Table as of Wednesday, May 7
Pos.TeamPWDLFAGDPTS
1Atletico Madrid3628447524+5188
2Barcelona3627459932+6785
3Real Madrid36266410135+6684
4Athletic Bilbao3620886538+2768
5Sevilla36179106650+1660
6Real Sociedad361610106052+858
7Villarreal36158135443+1153
8Valencia361210144950-146
9Celta Vigo36137164652-646
10Levante361112133342-945
11Rayo Vallecano36134194574-2943
12Espanyol36118173947-841
13Malaga36118173745-841
14Elche36912152947-1939
15Granada36115203154-2338
16Almeria36106204171-3036
17Real Valladolid36715143151-2036
18Getafe3699183253-2136
19Osasuna3698192960-3135
20Real Betis3657243173-4222
ESPN FC

This result leaves Real four points behind Atletico with two games to play, meaning that by the end of the next round of fixtures, their title challenge could well be over.

The relegation battle has also been shaken up, as the unexpected point for Valladolid lifts them out of the drop zone.

On Monday, Real Socieded hosted Granada and were held to a 1-1 draw after a last-minute equaliser from the visitors. The result meant little for Sociedad, who remain in sixth place, but could prove vital for Granada, who continue to battle relegation. The Andalusians are three points clear of the drop zone, but are far from safe yet.

La Liga Week 37 Fixtures
DateHomeTimeAway
May 10Villarreal7 p.m. BST (2 p.m. ET)Rayo Vallecano
May 10Levante9 p.m. BST (4 p.m. ET)Valencia
May 11Athletic Club4 p.m. BST (11 a.m. ET)Real Sociedad
May 11Atletico Madrid6 p.m. BST (1 p.m. ET)Malaga
May 11Elche6 p.m. BST (1 p.m. ET)Barcelona
May 11Getafe6 p.m. BST (1 p.m. ET)Sevilla
May 11Granada6 p.m. BST (1 p.m. ET)Almeria
May 11Real Betis6 p.m. BST (1 p.m. ET)Real Valladolid
May 11Espanyol6 p.m. BST (1 p.m. ET)Osasuna
May 11Celta de Vigo6 p.m. BST (1 p.m. ET)Real Madrid
ESPN FC

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Download
Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices