FA Cup 2014: Sunday's Third Round Results and Biggest Storylines

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
FA Cup 2014: Sunday's Third Round Results and Biggest Storylines
Alex Livesey/Getty Images

There was a Premier League club involved in all but one of Sunday's six FA Cup fixtures as the tournament once again pitted sides of all shapes and sizes against one another.

The English giants were out in force as Manchester United, Chelsea and Liverpool all took to the FA Cup stage while West Ham United, Swansea City and Sunderland were also in action.

However, not every performance was as comfortable as the last, with all Sunday's third-round results and the biggest talking points from the day's action detailed below.

2013-14 FA Cup Fourth Round, Sunday's Results
Result Time
Nottingham Forest 5-0 West Ham 12 p.m. GMT/7 a.m. ET
Sunderland 3-1 Carlisle United 2 p.m. GMT/9 a.m. ET
Derby County 0-2 Chelsea 2:15 p.m. GMT/9:15 a.m. ET
Liverpool 2-0 Oldham Athletic 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET
Port Vale 2-2 Plymouth 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET
Manchester United 1-2 Swansea City 4:30 p.m. GMT/11:30 a.m. ET

ESPN.co.uk

 

David Moyes' Red Devils Dumped Out By Swansea City

Alex Livesey/Getty Images

Michael Laudrup's Swansea City turned around some poor form at the optimum moment to hand Manchester United a shock 2-1 defeat at Old Trafford in the late kickoff.

The hosts were drawing 1-1 until a 76th-minute substitution appearance from Fabio lasted just four minutes, with the 23-year-old showing his immaturity by lunging into a tackle on Jose Canas that was rewarded with a red card.

Alex Livesey/Getty Images

The defeat serves as just another bitter turn in David Moyes' opening season as boss at the Theatre of Dreams, his side lacking the killer touch to finish the game off with neither 11 men nor 10.

Wilfried Bony lapped up the one-man advantage and sent in an 90th-minute winner, booking his side a spot in the competition's fourth round as a result.

 

Sam Allardyce's Hammers Embarrassed at the City Ground

Steve Bardens/Getty Images

With his side currently languishing in the Premier League's relegation zone, Sam Allardyce failed to give West Ham United fans much cause for hope after the east Londoners succumbed to a 5-0 defeat at Nottingham Forest.

As the scoreline suggests, this was by no means a fluke for the City Ground hosts, who were ruthless in the way they went about their business against Allardyce's youthful lineup.

The hero of the day was undoubtedly 22-year-old Jamie Paterson, who grabbed a trio of goals to push Forest into a healthy lead, and other additions coming from Andy Reid and Djamel Abdoun.

Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

Allardyce's position at Upton Park has come under increasing scrutiny of late, and this most recent result will by no means have helped his hopes for the future.

Per talkSPORT's Ian Abrahams, the manager does at least acknowledge that results are needed to improve his standing, however:

 

Reds Get Revenge Over Last Season's Tormentors

Clive Mason/Getty Images

Liverpool were left wanting the last time they came up against Oldham Athletic, bowing out of the 2012-13 tournament thanks to a 3-2 defeat against the Latics in the fourth round.

However, Brendan Rodgers' men learnt from their mistakes and were comfortable in a 2-0 win this time around, Iago Aspas opening the scoring before James Tarkowski unfortunately deflected a Raheem Sterling shot into his own net.

Liverpool can be hopeful of their chances of advancing further, too, with a fourth round meeting against either Bournemouth or Burton Albion awaiting them.

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

World Football

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.