World Football logoWorld Football

Robin van Persie, Gareth Bale and Luis Suarez Headline PFA Team of the Year

Joseph ZuckerFeatured ColumnistApril 28, 2013

The Professional Footballers' Association has announced its Team of the Year.

Inside World Football has the 11 players named to the Premier League Team of the Year:

It’s no surprise that league champions Manchester United lead all clubs with four players. Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur each have two players. Liverpool, Everton and Manchester City have a player apiece.

Robin van Persie and Gareth Bale are the headliners, as they have been unstoppable at times this season. Van Persie's second goal against Aston Villa last week was one of the best of the season. Meanwhile, Bale’s game has grown immensely. No longer is he simply a fast player who can cross the ball.

It's a pretty strong team, for the most part. There's little debate that these players all deserved to make the team. Of course, limiting an entire league to just 11 players will also open up discussion as to who got snubbed.

Michu and his 17 goals were overlooked. Arguments could be made that Vincent Kompany, David Luiz, Gary Cahill or Matija Nastasić deserved being in the team ahead of Rio Ferdinand.

There could potentially be some controversy as Luis Suarez was named to the team. The Liverpool striker will serve a 10-match ban for biting the arm of Chelsea defender Branislav Ivanovic (h/t Andy Hunter of The Guardian). There’s no doubting he earned the honor by virtue of his play on the pitch, but some may take umbrage with his inclusion after the Ivanovic incident.

Since the voting had been completed long before, the suspension couldn’t have been taken into consideration regarding Suarez’s merits.

Not everybody will be satisfied with the list, but it’s a pretty good team on the whole.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices