Ranking the Candidates for PFA Young Player of the Year Award

« Prev
1 of 7
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Ranking the Candidates for PFA Young Player of the Year Award
Clive Mason/Getty Images

The nominations for the PFA Young Player of the Year award have been named on Friday, with six of the English Premier League's top youngsters in with a chance of being named the winner.

The YPYA award is voted for by all the professionals in the top flight, with the players not able to vote for someone on their own team. Only those players who are aged 23 or lower at the start of the campaign are eligible for selection.

Last year, Spurs full-back Kyle Walker won the award, with the likes of Ashley Young, Jack Wilshere and James Milner winning it in the years previous.

This time around, Wilshere will be aiming for a second victory, as the Arsenal midfielder has been nominated along with, in alphabetical order, Gareth Bale (Tottenham), Christian Benteke (Aston Villa), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Romelu Lukaku (West Brom) and Danny Welbeck (Manchester United).

Here are the six nominees, ranked in order of who has had the best season—and thus who deserves to win.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

Premier League

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.