Professional Footballers' Association Releases Nominees for Player of the Year

Mike ChiariFeatured ColumnistApril 19, 2013

MANCHESTER, ENGLAND - FEBRUARY 10:  Robin van Persie of Manchester United celebrates scoring his team's second goal during the Barclays Premier League match between Manchester United and Everton at Old Trafford on February 10, 2013 in Manchester, England.  (Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images)
Shaun Botterill/Getty Images

The Professional Footballers' Association has released its short list of nominees for the prestigious Player of the Year Award, and it's anyone's guess who will ultimately come away with the honor.

According to BBC, the nominees are:

  • Michael Carrick (Manchester United)
  • Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Robin van Persie (Manchester United)
  • Luis Suarez (Liverpool)
  • Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
  • Juan Mata (Chelsea)

Van Persie is the defending award winner and Bale won it the year before, so it will certainly be interesting to see if the PFA chooses a repeat winner or goes with some new blood.

Each and every player up for the award brings something different to the table and has earned the consideration. An interesting case can be made for Carrick, as the defensive midfielder has just one goal on the season, but he has stifled opponents defensively and helped lead the Red Devils to the top of the EPL.

The contributions of his teammate, van Persie, are far more obvious, as the reigning Player of the Year has 21 goals and eight assists.

Bale has had an impressive season largely as an attacking midfielder with 17 goals. Suarez has notched 22 goals for a Liverpool team that is trying to get into the all-important top five.

Chelsea teammates Hazard and Mata have made a great case for themselves as well. Hazard has been moved all across the midfield and produced to the tune of eight goals and nine assists, while Mata has picked up 10 goals and 11 assists.

There is no clear front-runner for the award, so the remainder of the EPL season will be integral in determining who comes away with the honor.


Follow @MikeChiari on Twitter