5 of the Best Players Never to Have Won Footballer of the Year

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
5 of the Best Players Never to Have Won Footballer of the Year
Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images
Didier Drogba celebrates scoring for Chelsea in the 2012 Champions League final

After Luis Suarez had scored his 22nd Premier League goal of the season in Liverpool’s 3-2 win over Tottenham Hotspur at the weekend, his captain Steven Gerrard declared he should definitely win at least one of the Player of the Year awards. 

"If Suarez doesn't win an award this season he'll be the best player ever not to win one,” said Gerrard. 

The English game traditionally hands out two Player of the Year awards, the more prestigious Footballer of the Year award, voted on by members of the Football Writers Association since 1948, and since the 1973-74 season members of the Professional Footballer’s Association have also voted for their own Player of the Year. 

It is debatable whether the Uruguayan striker will win either of these awards this season, facing real competition from both Gareth Bale and Robin van Persie, but if he doesn’t, he certainly won’t be the best player to ever miss out.

Here is a list of five of the best players never to have been voted Player of the Year in English football. 

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

Premier League

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.