Anthony Martial Wins 2015 Golden Boy Award: Latest Details and Reaction

Christopher Simpson@@CJSimpsonBRFeatured ColumnistDecember 19, 2015

Manchester United's Anthony Martial celebrates after scoring the opening goal  during the Champions League group B soccer match between VfL Wolfsburg and Manchester United in Wolfsburg, Germany, Tuesday, Dec. 8, 2015. (AP Photo/Michael Sohn)
Michael Sohn/Associated Press

Manchester United's Anthony Martial was crowned as the 2015 Golden Boy on Saturday.

James Tuck announced the news on the club's official website, and United congratulated him on Twitter:

The prestigious award, established by Tuttosport, is given each year to a player under the age of 21 plying his trade in one of Europe's top leagues, as voted on by "journalists from 30 major newspapers across the continent."

Martial, 20, is the latest in a long line of talented youngsters to have claimed the prize and finds himself among many elite names:

Golden Boy Winners
YearWinnerNative country
2003Rafael van der VaartNetherlands
2004Wayne RooneyEngland
2005Lionel MessiArgentina
2006Cesc FabregasSpain
2007Sergio AgueroArgentina
2009Alexandre PatoBrazil
2010Mario BalotelliItaly
2011Mario GotzeGermany
2013Paul PogbaFrance
2014Raheem SterlingEngland
2015Anthony MartialFrance

After helping Monaco to third place in Ligue 1 last season, the Frenchman then earned a big-money move to Old Trafford, where he has defied critics of his price tag with an excellent start to life at United. He has netted six times and provided a beacon of hope for the Red Devils, per Bleacher Report UK:

Squawka's David O'Brien revealed just how good a year Martial has had, and Tom Coast of Sport Witness noted the contrasting names of those who have picked up the award in the past:

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

Hesham Bilal-Hafiz, a regular contributor to the Manchester Evening News, offered a reminder of the reaction Martial received after coming to United:

As Tuck noted, United are the only club to have had more than one player win the award, with Martial becoming the third after Wayne Rooney in 2004 and Anderson in 2008. The youngster edged out the likes of Bayern Munich's Kingsley Coman and Arsenal's Hector Bellerin for the gong.

While the likes of Anderson, Mario Balotelli and Alexandre Pato provide a cautionary tale of reading too much into the award, the majority of those who've won it have gone on to great things.

With his calm temperament and remarkable composure, Martial is likely to fall into the latter category.