Pocono 400 2013: Start Time, Lineup, TV Schedule and More

Kyle Newport@@KyleNewportFeatured ColumnistJune 8, 2013

Photo courtesy of NASCAR's official Instagram. (http://instagram.com/nascar)
Photo courtesy of NASCAR's official Instagram. (http://instagram.com/nascar)Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series is at Pocono Raceway this weekend for the Party in the Poconos 400, and here's important information to know as the race gets closer.

Jimmie Johnson will sit on the pole after rain washed out Friday's qualifying, according to the Associated Press (h/t ESPN). The starting positions were set based on points. 

If recent history matters, Johnson lucked out by getting the top spot after Joey Logano won the race last year when he started in the lead. 

The 43-car field will cover 400 miles over 160 laps, which was changed prior to last year's race.

NASCAR on TNT has an inside look at some of the preparations being done for the race.

Now let's check out the important information for this weekend's race.

Race: Party in the Poconos 400

Track: Pocono Raceway, Long Pond, Pennsylvania

Date: Sunday, June 9, 2013

Time: 1 p.m. EDT (coverage starts at 12 p.m. EDT)

Television: TNT

Pole winner: Johnson

Here is the lineup for the drivers (courtesy of PoconoRaceway.com):

Position Car Driver
1 48 Jimmie Johnson
2 99 Carl Edwards
3 15 Clint Bowyer
4 20 Matt Kenseth
5 29 Kevin Harvick
6 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr.
7 5 Kasey Kahne
8 18 Kyle Busch
9 27 Paul Menard
10 2 Brad Keselowski
11 24 Jeff Gordon
12 43 Aric Almirola
13 16 Greg Biffle
14 55 Mark Martin
15 56 Martin Truex Jr.
16 17 Rickey Stenhouse Jr.
17 11 Denny Hamlin
18 51 AJ Allmendinger
19 14 Tony Stewart
20 78 Kurt Busch
21 22 Joey Logano
22 1 Jamey McMurray
23 39 Ryan Newman
24 31 Jeff Burton
25 42 Juan Pablo Montoya
26 9 Marcos Ambrose
27 13 Casey Mears
28 34 David Ragan
29 47 Bobby Labonte
30 10 Danica Patrick
31 38 David Gilliland
32 7 Dave Blaney
33 30 David Stremme
34 83 David Reutimann
35 36 JJ Yeley
36 35 Josh Wise
37 33 Landon Cassill
38 32 Timmy Hill
39 93 Travis Kvapil
40 87 Joe Nemechek
41 98 Michael McDowell
42 19 Jason Leffler
43 44 Scott Riggs

Background Information

Defending champion Logano won the pole last year, but he will be at No. 21 for the start of this race. No driver has won this race in back-to-back years since 1997 and 1998 (Jeff Gordon). 

Speaking of Gordon, he will start 11th. He has fared well at Pocono and his most recent victory came in 2011. He started third in that race, and runner-up Kurt Busch won the pole. 

Greg Biffle is optimistic about the race, so keep an eye on him as the drivers get out on the track.

As the last two years have shown, starting near the top is key for this race. With the starting positions being determined by the points standings, there's a good chance that someone near the top will come away with the win.

Weather is not expected to be an issue, so they should be able to get this race in without having to worry about rain.

*All stats are courtesy of ESPN.com


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.