American Women's College Player Throws Ball at Opponent's Head Twice (Video)

Michael Cummings@MikeCummings37World Football Lead WriterNovember 6, 2012

When Scottie Pippen did it, he got a dunk in the bargain. When a women's college soccer player does it, she apparently gets a yellow card.

The Set Piece Video of the Day for this Tuesday takes us to the Northeast region of the United States, where Amherst recently defeated Colby 1-0 in a women's college soccer match.

In the closing minutes, an Amherst player received a yellow card for sending her throw-in at an opponent's head—not once, but twice. The video appears above. Enjoy. It's our Set Piece Video of the Day for this Election Day here in America.

We particularly like the off-camera commentary in a couple of spots. First, around the 0:07 mark, an incredulous male voice says, while holding back laughter, "She threw the ball at the back of the girl's head!"

Then, after the yellow card is awarded, an angry Colby fan (we're assuming) screams, "Way to waste time! That's a class act! That's a class act, white!"

Class act or not, the incident might bring to mind the 1993 NBA Finals (why wouldn't it?), when Pippen pulled off a similar trick on an inbounds play for the Chicago Bulls against the Phoenix Suns.

There were key differences, of course. For one thing, Pippen bounced the ball off the back of a defender, not his head. For another, his play led to a dunk, not a yellow card (or, we guess, a technical foul).

Watch Pippen's play here (fast-forward to the 1:56 mark).

So, who is this Amherst player? A little digging brought us to the name Emily Little, a senior defender whose profile can be found here.

The box score from the game (which Amherst won 1-0) says an Emily Little, who wears No. 27, was booked at the 89:30 mark. Amherst's roster also says Little wears No. 27, and the player in the video is wearing No. 27.

If it's not Little, any and all readers with information on the match are welcome to set the record straight. Please. We'd really like to know.

Anyway, we here at Set Piece salute the player, whoever she is. The first throw-in was clearly an accident, and even if the second was on purpose, we haven't heard of a rule that says you can't send a throw-in at your opponent's head.

Have you?

(h/t 101 Great Goals)

 

Related

    Tottenham Boss Pochettino Signs 5-Yr Deal

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Tottenham Boss Pochettino Signs 5-Yr Deal

    Gianni Verschueren
    via Bleacher Report

    Love Him, Hate Him: Sergio Ramos Was Draymond Before Draymond

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Love Him, Hate Him: Sergio Ramos Was Draymond Before Draymond

    Richard Fitzpatrick
    via Bleacher Report

    Lallana and Can Named in Liverpool's Squad for the Final

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Lallana and Can Named in Liverpool's Squad for the Final

    Liverpool FC
    via Liverpool FC

    8 Challenges to Set Yourself Before World Cup

    World Football logo
    World Football

    8 Challenges to Set Yourself Before World Cup

    Alex Dunn
    via Bleacher Report