Bob Stoops, Carson Palmer, Tony Romo Headline 2021 CFB Hall of Fame Class

Timothy Rapp@@TRappaRTFeatured ColumnistJanuary 11, 2021

Oklahoma head coach Bob Stoops speaks at a news conference to announce the his retirement in Norman, Okla., Wednesday, June 7, 2017. Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops abruptly announced his retirement Wednesday, a stunning offseason move by the 56-year-old future Hall of Famer who led the Sooners to 10 conference championships and a national title in 18 seasons. (AP Photo/Sue Ogrocki)
Sue Ogrocki/Associated Press

The College Football Hall of Fame announced its class of 2021 on Monday, highlighted by former Oklahoma head coach Bob Stoops, Eastern Illinois quarterback Tony Romo, USC quarterback Carson Palmer and Clemson running back C.J. Spiller.

The full list is below:

Stoops spent 18 seasons at Oklahoma, going 190-48 and winning a national championship in 2000. He took the team to a bowl game in every season, going 9-9 in those games, and his teams hit the No. 1 spot in the Associated Press rankings in five seasons.

Romo was the Ohio Valley Conference Player of the Year three times at Eastern Illinois, finishing his career with 8,212 passing yards (third in school history) and 85 touchdowns (second). He led Eastern Illinois to three FCS playoff appearances and a 17-2 conference record as a starter.

Palmer threw for 11,818 yards, 72 touchdowns and 49 interceptions in five years at USC and was the 2002 Heisman Trophy winner while sharing the Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year Award.

Spiller spent four years at Clemson, rushing for 3,547 yards, catching 123 passes for 1,420 yards and accumulating 51 total touchdowns. He was a complete weapon for the Tigers, also serving as a punt and kick returner. He was the 2009 ACC Player of the Year.

Other notable inductees included longtime NFL running back Darren Sproles—who had an excellent college career at Kansas State, posting 5,588 yards from scrimmage and 48 total touchdowns—and former Miami linebacker Dan Morgan, who set the school's all-time tackling record with 532 stops in his four years and won the Butkus, Bednarik and Nagurski Awards in 2000.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like