College Football Awards 2019: Results, Winners, Highlights and Twitter Reaction

Joseph Zucker@@JosephZuckerFeatured ColumnistDecember 13, 2019

ATLANTA, GEORGIA - DECEMBER 07: Joe Burrow #9 of the LSU Tigers celebrates after throwing a touchdown pass to Terrace Marshall Jr. #6 (not pictured) in the third quarter against the Georgia Bulldogs during the SEC Championship game at Mercedes-Benz Stadium on December 07, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)
Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

Joe Burrow is still two wins from a national championship, but the LSU quarterback added to his trophy cabinet Thursday as college football announced the winners for some of the game's top individual honors.

Burrow has been one of the biggest stories all season, throwing for 4,715 yards and 48 touchdowns while helping guide the Tigers to a 13-0 record and the No. 1 seed in the College Football Playoff.

Thursday night belonged to the Tigers star.


Award Winners

  • Maxwell Award (Player of the Year): Joe Burrow, LSU
  • Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (Best Quarterback): Joe Burrow, LSU
  • Doak Walker Award (Best Running Back): Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin
  • Biletnikoff Award (Best Receiver): Ja'Marr Chase, LSU
  • Chuck Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year): Chase Young, Ohio State
  • Outland Trophy (Best Interior Lineman): Penei Sewell, Oregon
  • Jim Thorpe Award (Best Defensive Back): Grant Delpit, LSU
  • Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award (Best Kicker): Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia
  • Ray Guy Award (Best Punter): Max Duffy, Kentucky


The Maxwell Award doesn't always predict the eventual Heisman Trophy winner. Tua Tagovailoa took home the honor last year but was runner-up to Oklahoma's Kyler Murray in the Heisman voting. However, the Maxwell more often than not provides a rough idea of how the Heisman race will play out.

Burrow bookended the night, opening the show as the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award recipient and closing the festivities with the Maxwell Award. In both cases, he was the first winner from LSU.

LSU Football @LSUfootball

The Best Player in America Joe Burrow is the Maxwell Award winner! #GeauxTigers https://t.co/Q4FLNHAGFS

Wilson Alexander @whalexander_

Joe Burrow won the Maxwell Award, which is given to the College Player of the Year. LSU players could have won four awards tonight. They won all four.

Zach Barnett @zach_barnett

According to the awards voters, LSU has... -- the best head coach of 2019 -- the best assistant coach of 2019 -- the best QB and overall player of 2019 -- the best WR of 2019 -- the best DB of 2019 Going to be fascinating to see if this team can close the deal.

Burrow wasn't the only LSU player who received some hardware as he undoubtedly helped wide receiver Ja'Marr Chase earn the Biletnikoff Award. Chase is carrying on the tradition of dynamic Tigers pass-catchers with 73 receptions for 1,498 yards and 18 touchdowns as a sophomore.

Tigers safety Grant Delpit was also the Jim Thorpe Award winner after registering 56 total tackles, two interceptions and six pass breakups during the regular season.

Some wondered if Delpit was the most deserving candidate from his own team, though.

David Helman @HelmanDC

Delpit was probably the third-best DB in the LSU secondary this year and won the Thorpe lol. But it’s fine because he should’ve won last year. 🗣 D. B. U. 🐯🐯🐯🐯

Aaron Ernest @TheTrackMamba

Delpit was the 3rd best Secondary player at LSU this year 😂😂 BUT #DBUUUU

Trent Smallwood @SmallwoodTrent

Misspell Derek Stingley?? 🤔 https://t.co/eSCwGkubn7

Chase Young took what was arguably the easiest award to call when he was the Chuck Bednarik Award recipient. The Ohio State defensive end has been a terror all season, collecting 21 tackles for loss and 16.5 sacks in 11 games.

Ohio State Football @OhioStateFB

2019 College Football’s Defensive Player of the Year: Chase Young @youngchase907 #GoBucks #ToughLove https://t.co/DLdwUeXECP

Had he not served a two-game suspension, Young might have made a run at Elvis Dumervil's single-season sack record (20 sacks).

In one of the night's tighter races, Wisconsin's Jonathan Taylor beat out Oklahoma State's Chuba Hubbard and Ohio State's J.K. Dobbins for the Doak Walker Award. He's the first back-to-back winner since Darren McFadden in 2006 and 2007. 

Taylor has run for 1,909 yards and 21 touchdowns this season, and he's already sixth all-time in rushing (6,080 yards). Were he to return for his senior year, he might make it three in a row.

Some Cowboys fans might have thought Hubbard was snubbed.

Eddie Radosevich @Eddie_Rado

Maybe another case of folks just simply not watching the games? First thought? Well OSU-Kansas State was on an inacessible ESPN+. He rushed for 296 yards that night.

Kyle Boone @Kyle__Boone

Blind résumé time ... Player 1: 161.3 yds rushing/game, 2,119 all-purpose yds, 6.3 YPC, 21 rush TDs Player 2: 146.8 yds rushing/game, 2,118 all-purpose yds, 6.4 YPC, 21 rush TDs Player 1 is Chuba Hubbard. Player 2 is Doak Walker Award winner Jonathan Taylor. Makes ya think!

Carson Cunningham @KOCOCarson

Hubbard had more yards than Taylor in one less game.

If this is his final awards show, Taylor made sure to go out in style.

The Undefeated @TheUndefeated

Jonathan Taylor came dressed to take home the Doak Walker Award for the second year in a row. https://t.co/slsSKzeLdn

Rodrigo Blankenship added to his already incredible journey at Georgia by winning the Lou Groza Award. The Bulldogs kicker finished the regular season 25-of-31 on field-goal attempts and earned touchbacks on 60 of his 79 kickoffs.

Whether you're nearsighted or farsighted, Blankenship was an inspiration.

All-American Bowl @AABonNBC

Respect the Specs 👓 Salute 2015 #AllAmericanBowl 🇺🇸 alum Rodrigo Blankenship (@RodTheKicker3) for being named the winner of the @LouGrozaAward #GoDawgs 🐶 https://t.co/G03qS4Rlam

SEC Network @SECNetwork

Respect. The. Specs. Rodrigo Blankenship is the first player in @GeorgiaFootball history to win the Lou Groza Award! https://t.co/fWjyIO61iD

Burrow, Young, Justin Fields and Jalen Hurts have one more stop to make before they rejoin their teams for bowl season. The quartet are headed to New York City for Saturday's Heisman presentation.

Assuming Burrow is the second LSU player to lift the Heisman, Fields and Young or Hurts could have the last laugh in the College Football Playoff.