4 Unrealistic but Totally Awesome College Football Super Conferences

Sam CatronContributor IIIOctober 28, 2011

4 Unrealistic but Totally Awesome College Football Super Conferences

0 of 4

    In the spirit of college football conference shuffling, let's start over. Let's throw everything out.

    Let's begin by throwing out the absolutely ridiculous multimillion-dollar television deals. We need all the money to be equal before we start making super conferences.

    While we're throwing stuff out, academics can leave too. Some schools hold on with a death grip to a particular conference based on academic prestige, when their school doesn't belong in said conference.

    Lastly, let's throw out conference ties. And don't freak out yet—I'll make sure the rivalries are still intact.

    Here are the new guidelines for each conference:

    Each conference will have 16 teams. Conferences will be split into four "divisions."

    Teams will play each team in their division once and two teams from each of the other divisions for a total of nine regular-season games.

    The winner of each division after the regular season will enter into a four-team playoff for the conference title.

    Once we have a conference champion for each of the super conferences, a "Final Four" will commence to crown a national champion. What do you think of that for a playoff system?

    Now that the ground rules are set, let's begin.

The Western Conference

1 of 4

    Since the Pac-12 basically started all this conference realignment mumbo-jumbo, let's start in the West.

    There are some teams in the West that deserve a chance to move up in conference alignment, and they will get their chance here.

    Northwest Division

    California, Washington, Oregon, Oregon State.

    Southwest Division

    Hawaii, Stanford, USC, UCLA.

    Southeast Division

    Air Force, Nevada, Arizona, Arizona State.

    Northeast Division

    Boise State, Fresno State, Utah, BYU.

The Central American Conference

2 of 4

    The Central American Conference will be a solid mix of the Big 12 and the Big 10.

    Many of these schools play the same style of smash-mouth football, and they will mix well together. I am going to ignore the moves that have been made for the Big 12 schools in the past year or two, but stay with me.

    North Division

    Iowa, Iowa State, Nebraska, Missouri.

    North Central Division

    Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State.

    South Central Division

    Texas Tech, Baylor, Southern Methodist, TCU.

    South Division

    Southern Miss, Houston, Texas, Texas A&M.

The Southeast Conference

3 of 4

    This conference will mainly be comprised of the SEC, with a few ACC schools mixed in.

    Football in this conference will be tough. Think about the SEC schedule with a beefed up non-conference schedule. Yeah—it's like that.

    North Division

    Tennessee, Kentucky, South Carolina, Clemson.

    South Division

    Alabama, Auburn, Georgia, Georgia Tech.

    East Division

    Miami, Florida, Florida State, USF.

    West Division 

    Mississippi State, LSU, Ole Miss, Arkansas.

The Northern Conference

4 of 4

    The Northern will be a mix of the ACC, Big East and Big 10 conferences.

    The Big East is fading fast, so this conference could be much more realistic than people think.

    Northeast Division

    Syracuse, Army, Penn State, Navy.

    Southeast Division

    Virginia Tech, West Virginia, Maryland, Pittsburgh.

    Central Division

    Michigan, Michigan State, Cincinnati, Ohio State.

    West Division

    Minnesota, Wisconsin, Notre Dame, Illinois.

slash iconYour sports. Delivered.

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!