Joe Burrow Awarded 2019 Heisman Trophy: Voting Results, Comments, Reaction

Adam Wells@adamwells1985Featured ColumnistDecember 15, 2019

FILE - In this Dec. 7, 2019, file photo, LSU quarterback Joe Burrow (9) warms up before the Southeastern Conference championship NCAA college football game against Georgia, in Atlanta. Burrow is a unanimous selection as the offensive player of the year on The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference football team, Monday, Dec. 9, 2019.(AP Photo/John Bazemore, File)
John Bazemore/Associated Press

For the first time in 60 years, LSU is home to the Heisman Trophy winner after quarterback Joe Burrow captured the award for his historic performance in 2019.

The voting turned out to be a landslide for Burrow, had 1,846 more points than No. 2 finisher, Oklahoma's Jalen Hurts, and was listed as the top choice on 90.7 percent of the ballots:

ESPN Stats & Info @ESPNStatsInfo

Joe Burrow received 1,846 more points than runner-up Jalen Hurts. Thatโ€™s the largest margin of victory in Heisman history. Burrow also received 90.7% of first place votes, breaking the record held by Troy Smith (86.7%) in 2006. https://t.co/XyEsJoFIZY

Burrow was named on 95.47 percent of the ballots and received 93.8 percent of the available points to beat out Hurts and Ohio State's Justin Fields and Chase Young.

Cody Worsham @CodyWorsham

The final vote. Joe Burrow pulled 93.8 percent of the possible points. Thatโ€™s a new record. https://t.co/dC9QdDFHMe

ESPN College Football @ESPNCFB

Joe Burrow wins the 2019 Heisman Trophy, the second in LSU history ๐Ÿ† https://t.co/KogDywqDQU

LSU Football @LSUfootball

The 2019 Heisman Trophy Winner https://t.co/1N7tWegTZW

Jacques Doucet @JacquesDoucet

#LSU Ed Orgeron says that when Joe Burrow made the 3rd and 17 throw against Texas, he knew he had the best player in the country. He finishes his interview with a resounding "Geaux Tigers" and big smile.

Shea Dixon @Sheadixon

#LSU faces Oklahoma in the Peach Bowl on Dec. 28. Joe Burrow, seated two spots down from Jalen Hurts, was asked when he shifts his focus to that game. "On the plane ride home. After tonight, it's go time."

The Heisman puts a bow on what's been an award-filled season for Burrow:

SEC Network @SECNetwork

๐Ÿ† Maxwell Award ๐Ÿ† Davey Oโ€™Brien Award ๐Ÿ† Walter Camp National Player of the Year ๐Ÿ† AP Player of the Yearย  ๐Ÿ† Johnny Unitas Award ๐Ÿ† SEC Offensive Player of the Year Joe Burrow. That is all. https://t.co/Xv1RaE3ScA

Burrow entered this season as a long shot in the Heisman race. CBS Sports' Chip Patterson noted the Tigers quarterback was getting 200-1 odds when betting first opened this year. He was coming off a solid, if unspectacular 2018 with 2,894 yards and 16 touchdowns in 13 games.

Bruce Feldman @BruceFeldmanCFB

Amazing what the 2015 Class of QBs has developed into. Lamar Jackson & Kyler Murray won Heismans, and Joe Burrow will become the third Heisman winner. Sam Darnold, Josh Rosen and Daniel Jones went 1st RD. Also in the class: Drew Lock, Jarrett Stidham, Gardner Minshew.

The 2018 season was Burrow's first year as a full-time starter. He spent three years at Ohio State from 2015 to 2017, appearing in just 10 games, before transferring to LSU.

"I didn't know if I was ever going to play at this level," Burrow told C.J. Doon of the Baltimore Sun about his success in 2019. "Three years sitting on the bench, you start to question a lot of things."

Over the course of 13 games in 2019, Burrow put together the best season by any quarterback in LSU history. The senior superstar is on pace to set an FBS record for completion percentage, depending on what happens in the College Football Playoff.

Adam Hensley @A_Hens83

Here's a pretty wild stat: LSU quarterback Joe Burrow is on pace to break the single-season record for completion percentage while averaging the 10th-most yards per attempt since 1956. https://t.co/SLLDNn1mIV

Burrow has already set SEC records with 48 passing touchdowns and 4,715 passing yards. He led LSU to its first undefeated regular season and conference title since 2011.

Despite being one of the nation's premier programs for decades, LSU has only produced two Heisman winners following Burrow's triumph. Running back Billy Cannon is the only other Tigers player to capture the award when he did it in 1959.