Firestone 550 2013 Results: Reaction, Leaders and Post-Race Analysis

Alex Ballentine@Ballentine_AlexFeatured ColumnistJune 9, 2013

FORT WORTH, TX - JUNE 08:  Helio Castroneves of Brazil, driver of the #3 AAA Insurance Team Penske Chevrolet, celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the IZOD IndyCar Series Firestone 550 at Texas Motor Speedway on June 8, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.  (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images for Texas Motor Speedway)
Chris Graythen/Getty Images

IndyCar points leader Helio Castroneves has finally found the winner's circle this season, coming out the winner at the famed Texas Motor Speedway at the 2013 Firestone 550.

As IndyCar PR tweeted out, it was a razor-sharp finish for the Brazilian driver:

Though the majority of the field was blown out by the top five, the race wasn't short on dramatic moments. IndyCar PR had the breakdown for some of the early lead changes:

Marco Andretti commanded the early lead.

Ryan Hunter-Reay was right behind him, though, and eventually took over the lead on Lap 70.

But a pit stop to replace four tires would set up a showdown between Andretti and Castronevesโ€”a showdown that Castroneves would use as his opportunity to take the lead and never give it up.

Castroneves has been close several times in this young IndyCar season. He had three top-five finishes in seven starts coming into the race and was already atop the leaderboard.

With the win, Castroneves became the first driver in history to win the marquee race four times. Andretti, who had been tied with Castroneves in the points standings, finished fifth.

Here's a look at the complete results from Texas.

Pos. Driver Laps Running / Reason Out
1 Helio Castroneves 228 Running
2 Ryan Hunter-Reay 228 Running
3 Tony Kanaan 228 Running
4 Ed Carpenter 228 Running
5 Marco Andretti 228 Running
6 Dario Franchitti 227 Running
7 Will Power 227 Running
8 Josef Newgarden 227 Running
9 James Hinchcliffe 227 Running
10 E.J. Viso 227 Running
11 Takuma Sato 227 Running
12 James Jakes 227 Running
13 Simon Pagenaud 226 Running
14 Sebastian Saavedra 226 Running
15 Justin Wilson 226 Running
16 Simona De Silvestro 226 Running
17 Charlie Kimball 226 Running
18 Tristan Vautier 225 Running
19 Oriol Servia 225 Running
20 Sebastien Bourdais 224 Running
21 Graham Rahal 223 Running
22 Alex Tagliani 223 Running
23 Scott Dixon 61 Mechanical
24 Pippa Mann 2 Mechanical

This was a huge win for Castroneves. It should create some separation between him and the rest of the pack just eight races into the season.


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.