Alabama's Bryce Young Wins 2021 AP College Football Player of the Year Award

Mike Chiari@@mikechiariFeatured Columnist IVDecember 9, 2021

Alabama quarterback Bryce Young (9) runs against Georgia during the first half of the Southeastern Conference championship NCAA college football game, Saturday, Dec. 4, 2021, in Atlanta. (AP Photo/Brynn Anderson)
AP Photo/Brynn Anderson

In a potential preview of the Heisman Trophy voting, Alabama quarterback Bryce Young was named the Associated Press College Football Player of the Year on Saturday.

According to Ralph D. Russo of the Associated Press, Young received 42 of the 53 first-place votes submitted by AP Top 25 voters.

Young received 137 points in the voting, while the second-place finisher, Michigan defensive end Aidan Hutchinson, received 67 points, including four first-place votes.

The 20-year-old Young is one of four Heisman Trophy finalists, along with Hutchinson, Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett and Ohio State quarterback CJ Stroud.

Pickett finished third in the AP Player of the Year voting and Stroud finished fifth, while Alabama linebacker Will Anderson Jr. was fourth.

Young has enjoyed a hugely productive season, completing 68.0 percent of his passes for 4,322 yards, 43 touchdowns and four interceptions.

He has the Crimson Tide ranked No. 1 in the nation with a 12-1 record, and in a must-win game for their College Football Playoff hopes, Young led the Tide to a 41-24 win over previously unbeaten Georgia in the SEC Championship Game.

Young is the second consecutive Alabama player to win the AP College Football Player of the Year Award, joining wide receiver DeVonta Smith last year.

Entering this season, the AP College Football Player of the Year Award winner has also won the Heisman Trophy five consecutive times. The last time the sweep didn't happen was 2015 when Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey won the AP award and Alabama running back Derrick Henry won the Heisman.

If Young does win the Heisman, he will be the fourth Crimson Tide player since 2009 to accomplish the feat.

Young, Hutchinson, Pickett and Stroud head to New York City where the Heisman Trophy winner will be announced Saturday.