NASCAR Nationwide Series: Carl Edwards Holds Off Kyle Busch

Steven IlesContributor INovember 6, 2010

Carl Edwards winner of the O'Reilly Auto Parts Challenge from TMS
Carl Edwards winner of the O'Reilly Auto Parts Challenge from TMSJonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

Fort Worth, Texas-Carl Edwards, driver of the No. 60 Copart.com Ford held off Kyle Busch, driver of the No. 18 Z-Lines Design/Conn’s Toyota for a victory.

Edwards jumped to the lead with 45 laps to go, and he and Busch would battle on the first restart after the caution on lap 148, but after that nobody had an answer for him.

Brad Keselowski, driver of the No. 22 Discount Tire Dodge would capture the NNS Championship, the first for Roger Penske.

Busch took the lead from pole-setter James Buescher at lap five, and led 39 laps before the first ServiceMaster Clean caution was thrown at lap 44.

Before the first caution was thrown, there was little action on the track. Busch slid under Kevin Harvick at lap three to take over the second spot. Then at lap five, Busch got the run on Buescher coming off turn four to take the lead.

We saw the first contact of the race at lap 11, between the No. 05 car driven by David Starr and the No. 07 car of Danica Patrick, on the backstretch, but no caution was thrown. Both Starr and Patrick came to the pits at lap 13 to fix their cars from the mishap a couple of laps earlier.

We finally saw our first ServiceMaster Clean caution at lap 44, when Buescher, driver of the No. 30 Wolfpack Energy Chevrolet, slapped the wall in turn four after blowing a tire. This brought the leaders down pit road, where Kyle Busch overshot his pit stall but was able to quickly back up and complete his stop.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

The only other action on pit road came from the No. 21 car of Clint Bowyer, who had trouble re-firing his car and stalled exiting his pits, dropping several spots.

The green flag dropped with Carl Edwards getting his first lead of the race. Edwards led 12 laps before fellow Roush Fenway driver Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., driver of the No. 7 CITI Financial Ford, took the lead.  Stenhouse, Jr. led the next twenty-seven laps until a caution came out at lap 81, due to troubles from David Starr's No. 5 car.

The green flag dropped again at lap 86, where Kyle Busch led for the second time of the day. Busch led for the next 57 laps.

Through the halfway point at lap 100, we saw two cautions, four lead changes, with four different leaders.  The drivers completed their scheduled green flag pit stops with Kyle Busch coming back on top.

Our third ServiceMaster Clean caution came at lap 148, with debris in turn four, from damage to the right front valence on third-place Brad Keselowski's car. The green flag dropped again at lap 152 with Kyle Busch still on top, but Edwards would rocket past Kyle Busch for the lead going into turn one, and Edwards didn't look back.

The fourth caution came at lap 186 when the No. 42 car, driven by Parker Kligerman, spun off turn two. The green flag dropped at lap 190, with Trevor Bayne leading briefly, before getting swallowed up by Busch going to the inside of Edwards, making it three-wide going into turn one. Brian Scott, driver of the No. 09 Shore Line Dodge, slapped the wall on lap 195, but a caution was not thrown.

Busch would catch his break on lap 197, when Clint Bowyer brought out the fifth caution.  Edwards got a huge jump on the start and easily took the lead. Busch and Keselowski made a last effort, but Edwards had the best car and scored his third NNS victory of the season. We saw the third green-white-checkered flag in Texas Motor Speedway NNS race history. 

There were five ServiceMaster Clean cautions for a total of 24 laps. This was Busch’s 11th top-10 finish in 12 races at TMS and his 24th race of the 2010 season. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. was the highest-finishing rookie, coming in 11th.

The top 10 finishers of the O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge are: No. 60 Carl Edwards, No. 18 Kyle Busch, No. 22 Brad Keselowski, No. 20 Joey Logano, No. 99 Martin Truex, Jr., No. 38 Jason Lefler, No. 32 Reed Sorenson, No. 33 Kevin Harvick, No. 98 Paul Menard, No. 66 Steve Wallace.

slash iconYour sports. Delivered.

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!