Creature Vs. Creature Writers Pool: Results After the Budweiser Shootout

Kelly CrandallSenior Writer IFebruary 8, 2010

DAYTONA BEACH, FL - FEBRUARY 06: The Trophy rest in Victory Lane  after Kevin Harvick, driver of the #29 Shell/Pennzoil Chevrolet, won the Budweiser Shootout at Daytona International Speedway on February 6, 2010 in Daytona Beach, Florida.  (Photo by Jason Smith/Getty Images for NASCAR)
Jason Smith/Getty Images

While the Budweiser Shootout wasn’t as crazy as the Thursday practice session, it was still a competitive event among 24 drivers looking for nothing but cash. It also helped show who might have the upper hand and early edge when it comes to this weekend’s Daytona 500.

Many drivers flexed their muscle: Carl Edwards led the entire first segment in his Roush-Fenway Ford; he’ll spend this week waiting for the birth of his daughter. Kasey Kahne unleashed his new Budweiser Ford in what looks to be a rebound year.

And Jamie McMurray made an excellent debut with his team Earnhardt-Ganassi Racing team. Once again though, it was Tony Stewart that may have stolen the show when it comes to Daytona, making three wide moves and challenging for the lead much of the night.

But Kevin Harvick was the driver that won his second Budweiser Shootout to kick off Speedweeks and get our Creature competition for 2010 kicked off.

With the fun and non-point event out of the way, it’s time to get to work and find that competitive nature. But before we do that, here’s a look at how our Creatures debuted in the first race of the year.

Misan Akuya: Jamie McMurray finished third

Ben Bomberger: Denny Hamlin finished fifth

James Broomhead: Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished 11th

Kelly Crandall: Tony Stewart finished ninth

Billy Fellin: Carl Edwards finished 17th

Adam Heasley: Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished 11th

Christopher Leone: Ken Schrader finished 14th

Kara Martin: Joey Logano finished seventh

Dustin Parks: Kyle Busch finished fourth

Patti Rodisch: Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished 11th

Sal Sigala Jr.: Kyle Busch finished fourth

Rob Tiongson: Jeff Gordon finished sixth

David Yeazell: Kasey Kahne finished second

Next up:

The Daytona 500 and the first official race of 2010 have arrived.

The winner of the Budweiser Shootout hasn’t won the Daytona 500 in the same year since 2000 with Dale Jarrett. And over the last three years the Daytona 500 victor has been a first timer, and those races also happened to all have last lap passes for the win.

Creatures have your picks in for the 52nd Daytona 500 by Thursday at 7 p.m. Eastern time. 


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.