X

US Figure Skating Championships TV Schedule 2022: Monday Preview, Predictions

Michelle Bruton@@michelle_nflFeatured ColumnistJanuary 3, 2022

Alysa Liu performs during the women's free skate at the U.S. Figure Skating Championships, Friday, Jan. 15, 2021, in Las Vegas. (AP Photo/John Locher)
John Locher/Associated Press

With the new year here, the buildup to the Beijing Olympics and Paralympics has commenced in earnest as well, with multiple sports holding championships over the next few weeks.

For fans of figure skating, the U.S. Figure Skating Championships, which kick off Monday and continue through Sunday, are appointment television. This year held in Nashville, Tennessee, the competition will showcase beloved disciplines like rhythm dance, pairs short program, ladies' and men's short program, free skate and free dance.

The event crowns champions in the ladies', men's, pairs and ice dance disciplines at the championship and junior levels of U.S. Figure Skating. It is also the last remaining qualifier ahead of the Beijing Games.

Fan favorites Alysa Liu and Nathan Chen and pairs Madison Hubbell and Zach Donohue and Madison Chock and Evan Bates will be some of the competitors to keep an eye on over the next week.

Let's break down how you can tune in before previewing the action.

                             

U.S. Figure Skating Championships 2022 Overview

Dates: Monday, Jan. 3-Sunday, Jan. 9

Location: Bridgestone Arena; Nashville, Tennessee

TV: USA Network, NBC

Live Stream: Peacock 

               

U.S. Figure Skating Championships TV Schedule

Thursday, 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT: Pairs Short Program (USA Network)

Thursday, 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT: Women's Short Program (USA Network)

Friday, 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT: Ice Dance Rhythm Dance (USA Network)

Friday, 8 p.m. ET/PT (7 p.m. CT/MT): Women's Free Skate (NBC)

Saturday, 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT: Men's Short Program (NBC)

Saturday, 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT: Ice Dance Free Dance and Pairs Free Skate (USA Network)

Sunday, 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT: Men's Free Skate (NBC)

                   

     

U.S. Figure Skating @USFigureSkating

In just a few short days, dreams will become reality as the 2022 Olympic Team is nominated at the #ToyotaUSChamps22. Find out what it would mean to members of #TeamUSA to punch their ticket to #Beijing2022. 🇺🇸 https://t.co/H0hoQfbqUP

Thursday marks the beginning of the U.S. Figure Skating championship weekend.

Junior Pairs Short Program, Junior Men Short Program and Junior Rhythm Dance are scheduled for Tuesday, while Junior Ladies Short Program Free Skates/Dance, Junior Men Free Skate, Junior Pairs Free Skate and Junior Free Dance take place Wednesday.

Though the junior sessions won't be broadcast on NBC or USA Network, spectators can attend. Bridgestone Arena requires all spectators over the age of five to show proof of vaccination or a negative PCR or NAAT COVID-19 test taken within the three days prior to entering the building, and all spectators over the age of two must wear masks.

On Monday, there are no in-person or televised events, as the athletes will be practicing. U.S. Figure Skating has canceled athlete autograph sessions and limited access to the secondary practice rink in Bellevue to accredited individuals only to mitigate risk to the athletes.

Chen, Hubbell/Donohue and Chock/Bates are medal contenders in Beijing. Now 16, Liu became the youngest U.S. women's national champion at 13 and is preparing for her first Olympics.

Participating skaters with Olympic experience include Karen Chen, Vincent Zhou, Jason Brown and Alexa Knierim, who now competes in pairs with Brandon Frazier after competing in Pyeongchang with her husband, Chris.

The full U.S. Figure Skating Olympic team will be named by January 10.

🚨 SPORTS NEWS ➡️ YOUR INBOX

The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.