Baseball Hall of Fame 2021: Induction Ceremony Start Time and TV Info

Michelle Bruton@@michelle_nflFeatured ColumnistSeptember 8, 2021

FILE - In this Jan. 22, 2020, file photo, New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter, right, and Colorado Rockies outfielder Larry Walker pose after receiving their Baseball Hall of Fame jerseys during a news conference in New York. (AP Photo/Bebeto Matthews, File)
Bebeto Matthews/Associated Press

The 2021 Baseball Hall of Fame induction ceremony will see one of the greatest to ever play the game enshrined in Cooperstown, New York on Wednesday.

And while you could say that about many of the players who enter the Hall—it is, after all, a self-selecting audience—few would argue that Derek Jeter isn't truly one of the players even among baseball greats who belongs in a different stratosphere. 

The New York Yankees legend headlines a 2021 ceremony for the Class of 2020 that also includes the late Marvin Miller, the executive director for the Major League Baseball Players Association from 1966-82; Ted Simmons, whose primary team was the St. Louis Cardinals; and Larry Walker, the 1997 NL MVP who spent the majority of his career with the Colorado Rockies. 

Also honored during the ceremony will be the winners of the Ford C. Frick Award for broadcasting excellence (Al Michaels in 2021; Ken Harrelson in 2020), the BBWAA Career Excellence Award (Dick Kaegel in 2021; the late Nick Cafardo in 2020) and the 2020 Buck O’Neil Lifetime Achievement Award (David Montgomery). 

The ceremony for the 2020 class was postponed last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Below you'll find everything you need to know to tune into the event. 


Baseball Hall of Fame 2021 Induction Ceremony

Date: Wednesday, Sept. 8

Time: 1:30 p.m. ET 

Location: Clark Sports Center, Cooperstown, New York 

TV: MLB Network

Live Stream: MLB.com


National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum ⚾ @baseballhall

The inductions of Derek Jeter, Marvin Miller, Ted Simmons and Larry Walker are set for Sept. 8! More details on the 2021 Induction Ceremony: https://t.co/hQH0qHZ5Iz https://t.co/eZoUV8O7YN

None of the members of the Class of 2020 reached the Hall by unanimous vote, but Jeter came close, with 99.7 percent.      

One of the game's best shortstops, the 47-year-old is a 14-time All-Star who has racked up accolades including Rookie of the Year, All-Star Game MVP and World Series MVP, as well as earning five Silver Sluggers, five Gold Gloves and five World Series rings,

At the time of his enshrinement, Jeter ranks sixth all-time in hits at 3,465.

One of the most influential figures in baseball history, Miller's posthumous induction is well-earned and overdue. During his 16 years presiding over the Major League Baseball Players Association, he introduced the players' right to arbitration to resolve contract disputes and navigated the introduction of free agency to the league to see player salaries increase dramatically. 

In his 21-year career, Simmons, an eight-time All-Star, amassed 2,472 career hits, second all-time among primary catchers and second to Hall of Famer Ivan Rodriguez. He's also second all-time in RBI, with 1,389, just behind Yogi Berra. 

He hit .285/.348/.437 over his career, playing five years for the Brewers, 13 for the Cardinals and three with the Braves. 

In his 10th and final appearance on the ballot, Walker was finally voted in with 76.6 percent. After playing six seasons for the Montreal Expos, winning his first of seven Gold Gloves, he went on to play nine years with the Colorado Rockies.

A career .313/.400/.565 hitter, he was elected to five All-Star Games and won three batting titles and three Silver Sluggers. He was also named the 1997 NL MVP.  

No players were inducted into the Hall by the Baseball Writers' Association of America in 2021 for only the fourth time since 1961; the most recent year this happened was in 2013. 

Curt Schilling (71.1 percent) Barry Bonds (61.8 percent) and Roger Clemens (61.6 percent) failed to reach the required 75 percent of the vote, and each has just one more year to be enshrined.