Paris Marathon 2019: Route, Course Map, Times, Event Details

Christopher Simpson@@CJSimpsonBRFeatured ColumnistApril 12, 2019

Kenya's Paul Lonyangata celebrates as he places first in the Men's Group during the 42nd edition of the Paris Marathon on April 8, 2018 in Paris.   / AFP PHOTO / Eric FEFERBERG        (Photo credit should read ERIC FEFERBERG/AFP/Getty Images)
ERIC FEFERBERG/Getty Images

The 2019 Paris Marathon will take place on Sunday when around 60,000 competitors take to the streets of the French capital.

The elite men's race will see Paul Lonyangata bid to win a record third consecutive title, having won the event in 2017 and 2018, but defending women's champion Betsy Saina won't be present.

Here is the schedule for the day's racing:

                            

Paris Marathon Schedule

  • 8:06 a.m. local time (7:06 a.m. BST, 2:06 a.m. ET): Wheelchair race
  • 8:09 a.m. local time (7:09 a.m. BST, 2:09 a.m. ET): Elite women
  • 8:25 a.m. local time (7:25 a.m. BST, 2:25 a.m. ET): Elite men and preferential wave
  • 10:20 a.m. local time (9:20 a.m. BST, 4:20 a.m. ET): Last runners depart

                       

The 26-mile route will see the runners start on the Champs-Elysees in front of the Arc de Triomphe and cross seven districts of the French capital before returning to the monument via the Avenue Foch:

Along the way, the competitors will pass some of Paris' most famous sites.

They'll make their way to the Bois de Vincennes via the Place de la Concorde, Palais Garnier and Place de la Bastille before heading back along the Seine, where they will pass Notre Dame cathedral and the Eiffel Tower.

Lonyangata's recent record in Paris makes him the favourite in the men's race, though he could face some stiff competition this year.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

The Kenyan set his personal best of 2 hours, six minutes and 10 seconds in Paris with his win in 2017, but there are several competitors who have recorded quicker times than him.

Asefa Mengistu, Yemane Tsegay and Feyisa Lilesa, all of Ethiopia, have each set personal bests under 2:05:00. 

In the women's race, it's a slightly more open field without Saina. Gelete Burka, whose best time of 2:20:45 would be a course record in Paris, is the favourite.