PFA Awards 2018: Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year Nominees Revealed

Rory Marsden@@roomarsdenFeatured ColumnistApril 14, 2018

MANCHESTER, ENGLAND - SEPTEMBER 09: Mohamed Salah of Liverpool and Kevin De Bruyne of Manchester City during the Premier League match between Manchester City and Liverpool at Etihad Stadium on September 9, 2017 in Manchester, England. (Photo by Robbie Jay Barratt - AMA/Getty Images)
Robbie Jay Barratt - AMA/Getty Images

Liverpool's Mohamed Salah and Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne lead the nominees for the 2018 PFA Player of the Year award.

The six-man shortlist was announced on Saturday and is completed by Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea, City pair David Silva and Leroy Sane and Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane.

BBC Sport @BBCSport

Here they are... The six nominees for PFA Men's Players' Player of the Year! 🔵 Kevin De Bruyne 🔴 David de Gea ⚪ Harry Kane 🔴 Mohamed Salah 🔵 Leroy Sane 🔵 David Silva 👉 https://t.co/WNw2DifBvZ Who's YOUR winner? #bbcfootball https://t.co/jsPmBJ29hj

The Young Player of the Year nominees were also announced, with Kane up to win the award for a second time and Ryan Sessegnon of Fulham a notable inclusion, per the PFA:


The 2018 nominees for the PFA Young Player of the Year! @HKane, @edersonmoraes93, @MarcusRashford, @LeroySane19, @RyanSessegnon and @sterling7 🏆 #PFAawards https://t.co/UWu9ju3m44

It has long been seen as a two-man race between Salah and De Bruyne for who will succeed N'Golo Kante as the PFA's Player of the Year.

City's Belgian star has been largely superb all season and was at his best early in the term as the Sky Blues took a stranglehold on the Premier League title.

Unlike De Bruyne, Salah will not end the season with any domestic silverware.

But he has enjoyed a remarkable campaign following his move to Anfield from Roma last summer.

With five games of 2017-18 remaining for Liverpool, Salah has 29 goals and nine assists in 31 English top-flight appearances.

Since the Premier League was reduced to 20 teams for the 1995-96 campaign, only six players have hit the 30-goal barrier—Alan Shearer, Kevin Phillips, Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo, Robin van Persie and Luis Suarez—while no player has ever passed 31 goals.

Salah, 25, could well break that record and, as a result, many will see him as the deserving winner for the season's best individual player. 

STOKE ON TRENT, ENGLAND - APRIL 07: Harry Kane of Tottenham Hotspur during the Premier League match between Stoke City and Tottenham Hotspur at Bet365 Stadium on April 7, 2018 in Stoke on Trent, England. (Photo by James Baylis - AMA/Getty Images)
James Baylis - AMA/Getty Images

Kane, 24, has now been nominated for both PFA awards in each of the last four seasons. He has never won the top gong and is likely to miss out again in 2018, but he has enjoyed another fantastic season and is on 25 Premier League goals for the campaign.

Were De Gea to claim the award he would become the first goalkeeper to win it since Peter Shilton in 1978.

The inclusion of Sane and Silva alongside De Bruyne is an indication of just how dominant City have been in the Premier League this season.

They have endured a chastening last 10 days as they have been knocked out of the UEFA Champions League by Liverpool and beaten by United.

But Pep Guardiola's side have undoubtedly been the stars of the show in England this year, and their best players are being recognised for their contributions. 


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.