Randy Moss and Ahmad Rashad Announced as Vikings' 2017 Ring of Honor Inductees

Mike Chiari@mikechiariFeatured ColumnistJune 15, 2017

Minnesota Vikings wide receiver Randy Moss (84) warms up before an NFL football game between the Minnesota Vikings and the Dallas Cowboys Sunday, Oct. 17, 2010 in Minneapolis.(AP Photo/Andy King)
Andy King/Associated Press

The Minnesota Vikings announced Wednesday that wide receivers Randy Moss and Ahmad Rashad will be inducted into the team's Ring of Honor this year.

Moss and Rashad will become the 22nd and 23rd members of the Vikings' Ring of Honor, and the first players to be inducted since 2013.

Vikings owner Mark Wilf said the following about the inductions in a statement on the team's official website: 

"Randy and Ahmad are two of the most recognizable and decorated players in Vikings history. They were great players who made their marks on the NFL during their careers and were highly respected by teammates and opponents. They are as proud of their Vikings roots as we are to have them in our football family forever. Both Randy and Ahmad deserve this team honor, and we look forward to inducting them into the Ring of Honor during the 2017 season."

Moss is second on the Vikings' all-time list in receptions (587), receiving yardage (9,316) and receiving touchdowns (92), behind only Cris Carter.

Rashad ranks sixth in receptions (400), seventh in receiving yardage (5,489) and fifth in receiving touchdowns (34).

Moss was among the most dominant wideouts in NFL history, doing most of his damage with the Vikes from 1998 through 2004 before returning for a four-game stint with the team in 2010.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

The Freak was named to five Pro Bowls with the Vikings, and he is currently third on the NFL's all-time receiving yardage list (15,292) and second in receiving touchdowns (156).

Rashad played for Minnesota from 1976 through 1982, reaching four Pro Bowls during that time and twice surpassing the 1,000-yard threshold.

The Vikings have yet to announce the dates of the respective inductions, but they will take place during the 2017 regular season.